WHAT IT IS LIKE TO BE A MISSIONARY IN A FOREIGN LAND

Rom 10:15 And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

FROM THE HEART OF A MISSIONARY

Photo from Pinterest

3BA143F4-B75C-4B04-A450-2F82FB24944D.jpeg

God Amazes!
When June 12 arrives, my wife and I will have been in full time missionary work in the Philippines for 4 years.

I hope you don’t mind if I share from my heart!
It is not that I am discouraged, because I am not! I have more hope inside than I have, perhaps, ever had.
I don’t ever ask for financial support, unless, of course when I am talking to God. The fact I don’t ask, does not, by any stretch of the imagination mean we don’t have needs. It really gets on my nerves where ministers are constantly asking and begging for money. I think it is a blight and not a good testimony to the world about our God Who provides.
To be fair, these “beggars” are the result of three causes:

  1. A scammer! They take pictures of starving children, or an orphanage or a child with a health issue. They cry, plead, beg every week for more help. Meanwhile they have no orphans, no orphan received any benefit. They pulled at your heartstrings, they wore you down and you gave.
  2. The legitimate ministry. They really do have hungry mouths to feed and naked kids to clothe. The empty bowls, empty stomachs, the look of those faces, of children you truly love, looking to you for something to eat. But you were never taught not to beg! You were never encouraged to ask God, not man. I don’t agree with this begging, but I understand a person might humiliate themselves to feed these children. Because, for whatever reason, the need is not being met.
  3. This third on is my category. I don’t believe in begging! Sometimes it crosses my mind that it is pride that keeps me from asking when we have a need. First I would like to explain, our personal needs are always met! I don’t expect that to change as I intend to seek God’s Kingdom first and all His Righteousness. I have proven this promise to be true all of my Christian life. It may be the last minute, but the provision is always there! What a Faithful God!

Facts:
We live in a very poor country!
Bibles cost money
Every outreach costs money
Feeding the poor requires money.
Clothing the naked requires money
Building a church requires money.
While people are building mega churches and mega homes, the people on the front line have need!
It seems the saved have no heart for the lost, especially if the lost are different in color or in another country. I have a missionary friend in China. Give that man $50,000 USDollars and he will plant 10 churches and win 40,000 to Christ for that investment. Everyone that contributes will receive an eternal benefit for their genuine kingdom investment!
Meanwhile many in the megachurches are not even saved. We move sheep from one church to the next and call it church growth. The Kingdom is barely advancing if it is advancing at all. Our ROI return on investment is pitiful! I believe it is one of the most successful tactics of the enemy to divert funds from where it counts, to places where it doesn’t.
Back to my scenario! I really need funding to complete the work God out in my heart to do! Not for me! For ministry! To reach the lost! Ali g the way ease the pain for as many as possible. Provide bibles for those who have none.
When I think of the Golden Rule, if I had a friend, who sold all, risked his life and the life of his family, moved to another country, that friend was winning souls to Christ and advancing the kingdom of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, I would support in prayer and finances until it hurt, but do it with joy! I have and I would do it again!
Now move away, these same people, you never hear from! Most not a word! This is the life of Christ! They did it to Him, it will also happen to us! But, it still amazes me!
Many as you are going make you promises! Promises never kept! You mention to the Lord in secret your each and every need. Then 4 people from different locations say, I believe God wants us to help you with this and that. The exact things you mentioned in secret to God!
So one thing, you know God is speaking to hearts! But even after saying God told me to help, then no help! This amazes me! If God tells me to do something, I know it is God, as quickly as possible I will do. This is basic, AMAZED!
If I had anything else to sell I would! In a heartbeat!
To be clear, there are people that have been faithful every single month since we got here. There are people with a very limited income that are the most faithful! Amazed!
There are people who pray for us and truly love the Lord. There are those who have a heart to give but cannot find a way. All OK and understandable.
Amazed!
One fellow that is a multimillionaire. This man I love and helped in the Lord many times and continue to help.
One day he calls me and says, “you know, I can write a check to you every week for $10k and not even miss it!” Then he says, “but I am jealous of you and your fruitful ministry, happy home, a wife that loves you.” Every year promises, but nothing. A spiritual father that since I have been here promise this and that, so many things. Yet almost nothing! Amazed!
Amazed!
Just last night, I see a PayPal alert, you have money! I look at the sender’s name and it is a person I don’t know and have never met. Amazing!
A pastor here gives me enough money to get some temporary work done on my mouth. Amazing!
People I never met, opened their home and fed me and let me stay there, even alone. Amazing!
Some of our most faithful supporters met through Facebook! Amazing!
We now have a goat ministry to the poor from a friend from long ago. Amazing!
I guess it was sort of a rant. I forgive and realize that some just don’t have the capacity or grace to do any better. Do I understand the fellow with real orphans begging? Yes! Do I agree and will I also do this? No!
Do I see the hungry and naked? Yes! And it breaks my heart! Do I see more souls I could reach? Yes! Does it frustrate me? Of course!
God bless!

Sort:  

Hey William glad to see you're out there on the front lines making a difference in people's lives. I hope to get to know you better as time goes on. I've been involved in missions mobilization for decades and can put myself in your shoes at least in spirit, and have done some short term work in Central America and E. Europe. Hope to see more of you around this forum.

God bless,

Kirby

Brother Kirby, thank you for your words of encouragement! The heart of Christ is the Great Commission. I absolutely love what we do amd I am honored to be, first a child of God and then His ambassador. I began doing short term missions in Bulgaria. I have always been a sort of a street preacher while living in America. I love the Gospel message and love to see God Work. I also look forward in getting to know you!
God bless! Following!
Daddy William

The bible said we should preach and spread the gospel to all , that the end time is near, thanks for doing this, you might not get your reward now, but surly, Gos will surly reward you in no time Amen.

We Upvote and resteem this post in order to encourage you write more about the gospel of our lord Jesus

Thank you! I love what we do! I love what the Lord lets us see with our own eyes and experience being on the front lines. I am not discouraged! I admit, this article is a bit of a rant, but it was just me baring my heart. I want people to see what my fellow missionaries are experiencing. Most of the ones I know, including myself, seek no earthy reward. My needs are always met! Every resource I ever get goes right into helping people and getting the gospel message out. For me, my reward is to see souls come into the kingdom. To please my Heavenly Father in every way possible.
Thank you for the encouragement!
God bless!
Daddy William

Praise God for He is faithful, as you said He has always provided. I know God often provides at the last minute. Maybe it is to test our faith, to see if we will trust Him until the last minute. I will keep you in my prayers, that God will supply in all your and your family's needs!

Thank you! Our needs are always met as we seek His Kingdom first. The minstry is where we face opposition. My main goal in writing this is to let people know what it is like to be a missionary. The people on the front line, who really are doing something for God, many times go without. While in America we are building mega churches. The missionary many times feels forgotten and sad to say is forgotten by many.
I am really at this time more encouraged in my inner man right now,
Thank you for your prayers!
God bless!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31