Tomorrow Is A New Day!

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

As Easter approaches, I often think about the mistakes I've made in the past, somewhat as a memory, somewhat as a reminder but mostly as a reason to keep trying my best at improving in everything I do.

Life tests all of us in many ways. Life has taught me that:

a) Life on this earth is too short
b) None of us shall take the riches of this world with us to the afterlife
and
c) What happened yesterday is in the past, it is what a person does today and tomorrow that matters.

One of the reasons why I think of these things that were a part of my past around this time of year is because I remember one simple little scene from the biography of Jesus Christ.

A scene in which a sinner, hanging on the cross by his side asks for forgiveness, realizing his mistakes and wanting to do the right thing, even if it may be the last thing that he does in his life, as he didn't have the rest of that day nor tomorrow to become a better person.

“And Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, To day shalt thou be with me in paradise.”

Luke 23:43

The lesson here is exactly what I keep reminding myself every day, no matter how many times a person stumbles, the goal is to get back up and keep trying to be better.

Life may be short and every morning that we wake up is a gift, it is an opportunity to become a better person than what we were yesterday. To show love, kindness and forgiveness.

Life may not be fair or easy at first glance, yet it is what we make of it, no matter how hard it may seem at times.

One step at a time.

I am quoting a person whom I consider to be Holy and he to some may be just another person, but the message that he gave to the world in these words is that it is never too late to try and be a good person. It is never too late to say "I'm sorry" and accept ones responsibilities for ones words and actions.

We can't fix the past, but we can do our best to do good today, tomorrow and every moment of our lives.

Wanted to share these thoughts and very personal moments in my life.
Sharing is caring, that is what we were taught as children and somewhere in life that lesson gets obscured and hidden. With all the "smog" around us, we too easily loose sight of what is important. Yet once we remember what really matters, then it all becomes clear and there is practically nothing that can lead us astray from the path of becoming better people.

I hope that these little moments of my life here were not too heavy to accept or read, as the reason I am sharing them is because these words help me every day, from the moment I wake up to the moment I lay my head down to sleep.

Wish everyone all the best, a lot of goodness, love and joy.

Jack

Sort:  

@jackmiller

Thank YOU for voting me as your Witness. Just to let you know that I'm honored. I'm following your work.

Have a nice weekend.

This really spoke to me, I've made tons of mistakes and i can't seem to leave them behind even when i try,i take solace in Luke 23:43... thank you for this.

I agree with you.God is great. Past is past. We couldn't fixed it. If we continue the present beautifully then we need not to think about future. Obviously the future will bright. So we should take care of our present. Thanks for sharing the nice blog.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

The good thing about the Christian life is that we are never alone. First of all we have our Heavenly Father who is great in mercy, but we also have our brothers in Christ. Those who see us fall help us to get up.

Ecclesiastes 4: 9-12.

Two are better than one; Because they have a good reward for their labor.

For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.

Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone?

And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.

A hug from Venezuela. God bless you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65