Can we disagree and yet be tolerant of one another?

in #steemchurch5 years ago (edited)

In the news today, I heard of a 10 year girl kicked out of school for espousing her Catholic faith in London.

This is a serious topic, but I hope to share my thoughts respectfully and with a bit of humor. I hope we might perhaps disagree, but do so with respect, tolerance and love. In my opinion this is an important reminder that tolerance does not require total agreement, and that in fact people can respectfully disagree.

Kaysey_and_Karen_Francis.jpg
Karen Francis with Kaysey
Source

UK TEACHER SUSPENDS CATHOLIC STUDENT FOR ‘HOMOPHOBIA’

"This is why parents are beginning to see the dangers of the imposition of the new sexual and gender ideology that does not permit dissent even from innocent 10-year-old children," Andrea Minichiello Williams, executive director of the Christian Legal Centre, representing the parents of the suspended children, told Church Militant. Susan Papas, head of Heavers Farmer Primary School in Croydon, South London, suspended two children for five days after one of them asked permission not to participate in an LGBT lesson during Gay Pride Month.

I originally heard about this topic from The Amazing Lucas on YouTube, and below I will link his video on this topic.

Amazing Lucas | 10 year old SUSPENDED for Religious Beliefs

https://youtu.be/YXOaPgvMF0k

Christianity is founded upon Love, Humility & Mercy

When people insist tolerance needs to be taught in school, or it might not be taught at all, I say no. Fortunately the western world is founded upon Christian ethics and that includes tolerance and love.

The Christian ethic is founded upon the idea that all humanity was made in God's image, and that therefore there is something divine of us. Therefore, to destroy, and hate a member of the human family is to offend the sacredness of God's image, and creation: We are not to do this.

What's more Christians are taught not to judge others, and to be careful about our critiques over other people's lifestyles, because we are told to focus upon our own failures primarily.

Tolerance does not necessitate my acceptance of your "truth"

For me to love and respect my neighbor does not require my acceptance of their lifestyle and choices. In fact, the idea that tolerance requires acceptance of your truth and denial my own is rooted in fascism, not love and freedom. I am quite able to love you and disagree with how you live, the two are not mutually exclusive.

Of course, we can disagree and yet be tolerant of one another.

I can simultaneously disapprove of your unhealthy dietary choices and yet respect and love you as a person, can't I?

In fact, often the only way to truly love another person is to express disagreement with your lifestyle. Imagine a friend who disapproves with his friend's terrible diet, they might be heard saying: "I think you should be careful", and "I am concerned about you". Or a child might desire ice cream for dinner, but a loving parent says this is not good for you.

Or perhaps closer to the mark, a man might desire to sleep with as many women as will let him, but I would argue that is neither good for himself, nor the women. I do not speak out of judgement, nor condemnation, nor intolerance. I speak, and I live out of love, knowing that I am filled with failure and so humility must soak every word I utter, yet my opinions are my own and if someone asks I will say them honestly.

The question as I see it is this, when we speak to one another, do we do so out of love, or condemnation?

In the same way, when a Christian, or Muslim stands in opposition to the homosexual lifestyle we are not standing in condemnation of the individual, exactly the opposite. We are trying to love the person by expressing our faith honestly, in a manner that might reveal the real God's love for his creation and design for human flourishing. If you disagree, so be it, I won't force you to accept my ideas.

6xlydt6pkn421.jpg
Source

Closing Remarks:

Is modern PC culture intolerant?

We may meet, debate, and disagree, you may wholly reject my belief in God's creation and his idea of what man and woman were made for, that is OK. You can disagree, it is a free country, isn't it?

Having said that, by the same stripe you ought to respect my opinion and let me live in peace as I see fit, in the same manner you demand of me for you. The good news is even when we disagree, we can live together in what I consider "love", namely to stand apart respectfully, desiring the best for one another, as far as it can be obtained.

So, in closing I'd just like to say, I am able to respect you while at the same time holding a disagreement with your belief, can you? And if not, who is the intolerant one?

1112.png

1113.png

More from me:

🔴 Steemit: https://steemit.com/@infidel1258
🔴 Steemit # 2: https://steemit.com/@itisfinished
🔴 YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOoOxEybRJm_iK7EtL11YNw
🔴 Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/infidel1258/
🔴 Minds: https://www.minds.com/register?referrer=infidel1258

Referral Links:

▶️ Brave Browser: https://brave.com/dwa705
▶️ Steem Monsters: https://steemmonsters.com?ref=infidel1258
▶️ Actifit: https://actifit.io/signup?referrer=infidel1258
▶️ Partiko: https://partiko.app/referral/infidel1258
▶️ CoinSquare: https://coinsquare.com/register?r=lbdcL
▶️ Coinbase: https://www.coinbase.com/join/59bbe24dd0e8a800f12e7b93

Sort:  

This message has the support of @steemchurch International Ministry, the community that leads the crusade for freedom through the love of Jesus, freedom of the body, soul and spirit to impact the world. Created on the blockchain steem and expanded to the improved blockchain Telos.

Read more about our vision here

Steemchurch is a community that establishes social projects in countries like Venezuela, Nigeria, Ghana and the Philippines, educating and training children, so that they are men and women who change history tomorrow.

|||

Each time you support with some delegation you will be collaborating with the feeding, education of thousands of children, the restoration of the family, and the promotion of blockchain technology in the world

50 SP| 100 SP|200 SP|500 SP|1000 SP|2000 SP|5000 SP



btd.gif

Loading...

Well said yes we can disagree and be tolerant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Did you hear about the intolerance from the LEFT in Portland USA? Frigging Antifa... they are the type of intolerance I am thinking of when I wrote this article.
It's like the "left" thinks the "right" is the devil, and yet the left is the side that is kicking kids out of school for faith positions, and beating journalists in the streets of America.

No I have not heard that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Antifa was walking through Portland earlier this week, and they beat a journalist, with rocks, metal bars, and liquids and eggs. The guy, Andy Ngo, is a conservative gay, asian journalist and they dont like that combo. They gave the guy a brain bleed, and they did all this while chanting "no hate, no violence".

Because they stand against hate and violence... #irony

"love trumps hate.... and now I throw the quick drying cement on you"

Antifa and the SJW left is basically like hateful people who accuse the right of all the things they're guilty of.

Yes the hypocrisy is incredibly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @infidel1258!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.971 which ranks you at #10803 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 10794).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 164 contributions, your post is ranked at #116.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74