Greed on Steemit

in #steemchurch6 years ago

I've seen more and more greed here on Steemit and I think it's going to ruin some communities. When there is big money on the line I think it's human nature to become greedy. To want more and more of something for less and less effort. After a while, it becomes expected.

I'm probably a little biased since I helped created SteemUSA, but that's one of the best things I like about the community. We don't have enough Steem Power for those to become too greedy, but yet can provide a small upvote for those who are looking for some support. Pretty much everyone in the community is treated equally and the only thing that is expected is to create good content that is free of plagiarism and credit is given where credit is due.


Source

I feel the same way about Steemchurch. It is a great community that is trying to actively fight plagiarism here on Steemit and at the same time do wonderful things such as feed all the unfortunate using @farms. I've talked about it recently to find out more check out my post here.

There are a lot of great projects here on Steemit with great leaders behind them. You don't have to look far to find a great number of projects here on Steemit. I've also seen a great number of communities here on steemit that a more of an empire than a community. You might be getting support from said community, but those at the top are reaping the rewards for all of your hard work.


Source

@steemchurch is a great community to get involved with here on Steemit as well as @steemusa (if you're living or from the USA). If you're lost and alone out on this platform get invovled. Steemchurch has a great witness @jackmiller as well as steemusa @themarkymark.

This isn't just a Steem problem either be aware of those who are wolves in sheeps clothing. If something is too good to be true it probably is. This isn't just a Steem or Steemit problem either. There are many people out there who are looking to steal and destroy your crypto holdings. Protect your private keys and don't share them with anyone.

Sort:  

The love of money is the root of all evil, but thank God there are always those people who think differently, and have in their hearts the desire to be transformers of environment, example of them @Sirknight, @jackmiller. Thank you for sharing this message.

D.R

Some people act like the have to give the Steem and SBD out of there own wallet. If I see something that I like I give a small upvote and the better the post is the bigger is my upvote. That´s pretty easy and keeps Steemit running.

Yeah. I think that's one of my favorite things about Steemit is it requires pretty much nothing to freely give on here!

steemng, stach etc....

Greed is pertinent anywhere there's money. We are humans and as such it's bound to happen. Just guard yourself.

Great plug for two seemingly noteworthy communities.

@steemchurch and @steemusa

I will definitely research these interesting gems.

Something desperately needs to be done to keep the pilot light from dying out, or overtaken by bogus blogs...jmho.

Peace.

Glad I could spread the love to others who may not know about these awesome communities.

It’s a sad issue. I’m starting to see it more and more in the place I spend a lot of effort into. People show up and instantly post there links in channels. They don’t even bother to read the pin message that states how to present our post in our channel(s) if there are any rules. Then they are “offline” or not around if you call them out.

Biggest issue is trying find the sock puppet accounts trying to exploit things. They might have found a place that not been work out yet where they can thief content from or change it in a way to escape being noticed. Other times they simply know there a limit to how often support can be received so they try and get around that.

Leaves me not wanting to think certain things about people. I hate to question if someone is a legit honest user or just trying pillage end burn the lands for profit. Even more so if I call out for someone to be looked further into and I end up being wrong. Not a good feeling even if they will never know and it had no impact on them what so ever.

Yeah I don't have any proof, for the most part, it's just a feeling. Regardless even if I had any proof I doubt it would do much.

So I may have asked you this before, but what group are you putting your effort into nowadays?

Archdruid Gaming It’s been around for a little while. About two months ago or so they opened It up and starting inviting people in. Before than I think it was just a small place to do gaming curation and not a big focus on trying create a community out of it. It’s focused on all kinds of gaming content. A great place for gaming authors to share their outstanding work, talk with others, and support each other.

There was and still is lots of opportunity have great impact on the community and help shape its future. So I did just that and been moved up the ranks a couple of times. We got quite a few things still working on internally as we work together and find people who want be more involved in the community. Along with just trying find the best gaming content out there and help rewards those authors.

It has been amazing fun and a lot of other things as well. Fair amount of time consuming as well since I been spearheading the changes, making proposal, and trying move things along as I work with others as a team.

On top of that I and a couple of others respect them in another discord that is focused around curation efforts. We seem to be so hungry these days for finding new and amazing gaming authors. As we look to build up the community.

Steemusa and steemchurch might find this list helpful if you have not already seen it. Another community is working on a massive Master Exclusion List. There is over 94k accounts listed from being banned or blacklisted from places like steamclenaers, and msp, and a bunch of other places.

More can be found about the list and the link out to it in this post.

https://steemit.com/steemdev/@steemcommunity/witnessupdate3announcing2excitingnewsteemittools-3ku6y8lgc8

Thanks for your great work and contribution to these communities. God be with us and am sure we'll reach the promised land.

You got a 26.70% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76