PUT WEIGHTS ASIDE

in #steemchurch6 years ago

weights-664766_1280.jpg
SCRIPTURAL TEXT
(Heb. 12:1)
"Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us"

No athlete who is determined to win in a race, runs the race carrying weights along with him. A weight is defined as the force that gravitation exerts upon a body, which hampers its rate of forward or upward acceleration.

Just as it is imperative for athletes to put weights aside while jcompeting for the prize in a race, Apostle Paul admonishes us as believers in the race of Christianity, to lay aside every weight and the sin which easily overwhelms us, if we are determined to run and win the prize. Hence, we need to put aside every unnecessary distraction that has hindered us from making progress in our lives as believers.

So, examine your life today – what is it that keeps hindering you from making progress the way you ought to have made so far? Do you struggle with a particular habit, sin or fear that overwhelms you as you run the race of Christianity? Identify these weights and sin today and ask the Holy Spirit to help you put them aside, so that you can run effectively and win the prize at the end of time. Glory to God!

PRAYER OF REDEDICATION
Dear Father, I thank you for your great love towards me, and the privile­ge to be called your son. I declare that you are my Source and my only hope. You are my helper and refuge and without you I am nothing. Bring me into the ful­lness of your grace this day and send helpers of my destiny my way. I consecrate my whole body, soul and spirit to you right now. Let your will be done in my life today in Jesus Name. Amen.

Sort:  

In order to run the race set before us, we should drop every weight that can weigh us down

As the name says, weight definitely weighs one down

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88