You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemChurch: Humor in the bible?

in #steemchurch6 years ago (edited)

I think the LORD of hosts also has a knack for sarcastic wit very memorably through His prophet, Elijah.

1 Kings 18:27 KJVS
And it came to pass at noon, that Elijah mocked them, and said, Cry aloud: for he is a god; either he is talking, or he is pursuing, or he is in a journey, or peradventure he sleepeth, and must be awaked.

I believe I read that the pursuing is essentially alluding to Baal being on the crapper. Now, that's funny.

Sick burn. Seems like in 1 Kings, God is able to deal it metaphorically and literally. Wow. 🔥

Sort:  

There are many stories in the scriptures that when we look at it from a broad perspective we see its funny side, thank you for taking time to read my publication, I hope you laughed it was the intention.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60915.02
ETH 2636.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64