SteemCamp is *not* SteemFest

in #steemcampuk7 years ago

IMG_20171102_085722.jpg

SteemFest2 was great, really great. A magical few days meeting other Steemians and hearing stories about this platform, how it works, who we are, what we're all doing. @roelandp and his team did an unbelievable job creating a multi-faceted, beautifully curated experience. We were shuttled all over Lisbon, carefully looked after with way more than anyone could wish for packed into every day. I heartily encourage all of you to book for SteemFest3 as soon as booking opens.

With SteemCampUK we're aiming for a similarly engaging experience but with some important differences.

The main difference is that while SteemFest is professionally and efficiently organised, we at SteemCampUK cut the organisation of things down to a minimum and what there is will be organised ourselves. It can be a challenge (but a good one) to find that nobody's going to sort everything out for you.

So we'll have tea and coffee and hopefully some lunch, but no infinite supply of pastel de nata (anyway Birmingham doesn't really have a comparable local delicacy. I mean, what? Pork Scratchings? Onion Bhaji?)

At SteemCampUK, there will be no set speeches or keynotes, and no platform or stage for one smart person to talk to fifty other smart people at once.

I will hold the circle together at the beginning to introduce you to the format and I will do so again at the end of the day, but "Participant-led" means that you, as a member of the group, get to co-create the agenda with your pees and decide what we talk about and how we arrange the sessions throughout the day. That's why it's important for you to come - it literally won't be the same without you and your unique input. It does mean that you might have to work a little harder than you might at SteemFest or any regular conference, but nothing you won't be able to handle and the rewards are some learning and an opportunity to work on what's really important to you.

(Oh, did I mention you should also follow @roelandp and book up for SteemFest3 as soon as he announces it? It will be amazing.)


@steemcampuk is on 7th April 2018, organised by @lloyddavis who also writes this blog - see this post for details of how to book, pay for tickets and support the event.

Sort:  

I would like to try and make this if I can :)

Alas, I'll be in España… but I'll be with you in spirit! Have fun!

given the people who are coming, I won't be at all surprised if there's some sort of live streaming thing for you to drop into from far away.

ah sweet, thanks to the discord group i just found this too. fantastic! :)

which discord group did you see it in, phil? I'm terrible with chat rooms, but I know it's the way stuff gets spread and talked about here.

sure, i saw it in 'eurosteem' as it has a 'midlands-meetups' group there -- https://discord.gg/KJAxXza -- try this to get there.

Hope the arrangements are going well @lloyddavis and you've got plenty of people enrolled.

My daughter has still not been able to find alternative childcare. It's a bit tricky as there is a family wedding on my son-in-law's side so that's taken out a number of potential candidates. She's still working on it though so never say never. 😊

best of luck with it! wish I could make it.....maybe next time! x

you will come next time, even if we have to bring it to Norfolk to make it unavoidable for you!

I'm sorry that steemcampuk is not like steemfest2 in that certain people who were at the latter won't be able to make it, but we're in for the long haul, right, if not this time then next time or the next or the next or the next or the next.

eeeeeggggzakleee

Only just found out about this account (thank you @rimicane), I thought the event had been cancelled as I hadn't seen anything about it recently :) I will confirm my travel arrangements and then if all is Ok, I will send you the money over :)

I'm glad we didn't lose you!

How many people are there now on the list?

So far there are 10 on the list and 3 have paid - early days still.

Thanks for sharing it around. Do encourage others to come.

we will pay tomorrow and help promote.

I am trying! 😇

Much excite! Looking forward upvoted and followed (bit late to the party but I'm catching up!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64