You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steembasicincome give away (contest)

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

Well, I love to write, so here´s my ticket:
The chamber was dimly litted, but torches where nowhere to be found as the light seemingly came from the floor. It seemed to be coated with some electroluminescent green paint. I gazed amazed at the golden idol at the pedestal in the center of the room. It had to be mine, it just had to be. I approached carefuly stepping only on the stones marked with runes, and when I got into reaching distance, I spotted what seemed to be a pressure plate underneath it. Luckily I have brought a replacement. 5 Kilograms, that was how much the gold statue weighted. I made the swap with a lightning fast movement and for a second, it seemed to have worked. But as soon as I took a step away from the pedestal, I heard a loud bang and the all the massive stone doors that leaded out of the room were instantly shut. I searched for windows, or any opening of any kind. There were none. Several small jets of iridescent green water started pouring from minuscule holes in the roof, but I thought to be safe since the amount of water being poured in was so low. It would take days for the liquid to flood the chamber high enough so I could actually drown. I devoted myself to find a way to get out of that predicament, I tried climbing, leveraging the stone doors, putting back the idol in its place. Nothing worked, and a few hours later I started to feel funny and dizzy. I thought it was stress and then I coughed blood, and it hit me: the water was radioactive. How could ancient people master radioactive water for a trap? The point was moot, since now I knew that I wouldn´t drown, I was already dead, it was just a question of time before my organs suffered liquefaction. And when the next expedition would arrive some years later, they wouldn´t even find my bones...

Sort:  

Thank you for participating and for your great story! Don't forget to upvote the post to fully participate (if you already done that ignore this sentence...) I will let you know if you won the contest next week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43