Steem Basic Income – I Wanted Some, and Gave something back to the Deserving

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

Share.JPG

After reading @thedarkhorse’s article, I was quite intrigued with the prospect of an up-vote for life, even if it’s a small one. I always look at these things in terms of ROI (Return on Investment) and at this stage I’m unsure when I will see it. The sponsorship requirement was what attracted me and overrode my ROI need.

You can’t just enrol yourself ONLY in this scheme; you need to sponsor someone in. You can read all about this if you open the article I mentioned above, so there’s no need to duplicate it all.

I for one now have FIVE shares in Steem Basic Income. For each one I sent 1 STEEM to @steembasicincome. I have to sponsor someone else who also will get a share for every share I buy.

I now have over 150 followers, and as much as I would love to send you all a share, I just can’t. I may buy some more at a later time though as there are some other followers of mine who I would like to send a share too. For now though, these are the FIVE sponsors I enlisted into the scheme.

followers.jpg

I sent the funds yesterday and I believe it to be TWO days before you starting getting your up-vote. Don’t expect a lot, it’s a single share! By the time you read this, you should be getting your up-vote on any new articles you author.

@steevc –The first Steemian to take an interest in my writing, having several things in common and being my behavioural role model on the platform.

@heymattsokol – Yourself and @steevc encouraged me when I was about to jump ship and was very demotivated. I may have left if not for your positive words.

@daan – We seem to have some things in common, and you’re a regular visitor to my blog. That’s a good enough reason for me.

@teamhumble – I’m reciprocating your support for the auto up-votes you have been giving me, a good reason. We met at SteemCamp too, great reason.

@jalayn - We also seem to have some things in common, and you’re a regular visitor to my blog. You’re also quite new to the platform and I feel you may need a little helping hand.

Votees.JPG

I think this is a great idea, you can enlist yourself but not without sponsoring others. A big case of, ‘Give something back to the deserving’.

You can find out more about Steem Basic Income, surprisingly at #steembasicincome


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Very cool! Glad to see my post helped motivate someone to sponsor a few people into the basic income program.

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@thedarkhorse/drip-drip-drip-leaky-sink-no-it-s-lifetime-income-steem-basic-income-review

Let us know what happens someone signed me up for that steem basic income.

Do you really like that photo of the drooling guy? lol

It appears to take 3 days for steembasicincome to start. I got this in my wallet, so I guess its started now:

The drooling guy? He's my persona now, and what a handsome chap he is.. yes? :)

Very cool, I've been interested in the general concept of basic income for some time now. It's logical that I also join a basic income initiative on Steemit, so thanks for inviting me!

I don't think I would have thought about it otherwise. Will also look into sponsoring some other people!

Have added you to my auto-vote list :-)

Its a great idea, but I haven't seen it come through yet. I did all that on Friday so it shouldn't be too much longer. Thanks for the auto-vote :)

Thank you very much @slobberchops, it means a lot 🙏!

I learned a lot the past few weeks about the platform, how to behave properly with regard to the votes/comments, and most of all, that writing something (subjectively) interesting every day is very hard. And yet, I feel there is so much to be known yet...
Meanwhile, I've read quantity of quality articles from you, @steevc and many other steemers, like the solar power passionate @buzz.lightyear, artsy @oen, and fellow Japan lover @japon (writing in French, but translated by @vcelier)... To only name a few!
I feel like platforms such as steemit definitely help in broadening one's horizons.

Also, it turns out I was an avid reader of UBI stuff on medium.com and am very interested in it. I think that with the advances of AI and robotics, it is the way to go for a meaningful future, where everyone would be able to explore different tracks, interests instead of just working to survive.
So, I'm in for experimenting UBI on a blockchain such as Steem and I'll put some SP into it too... But first, I have to learn how to make a memo transfer 😅

Thanks again @slobberchops!

Your welcome @jalayn. The bigger articles take some time to write, as I'm sure your aware! I try and do a 'big' one every week with smaller ones in between. I'm aiming for around 600-700 words for the biggies. Sometimes its hard to think of what to write about.

I know you have lots of travelling memories and pictures to boot, but I'm a bit of a jack of all trades, except for maybe Magic.

This is a really great idea. I had looked into similar services in the past, but I have never really had the spare SBD to send away like that. I agree with a lot of your selections. You have picked some really great posters on here. Thanks for sharing the love and helping others out. I usually find myself in that discouraged place about once a month. I am glad you have stuck it out!

I have not heard of this before now, I will investigate this, thanks for the heads up. I have a few people in mind that would be very deserving of me sponsoring them into it.

Was just looking at sponsoring some steemians - it says it will accept SBD if their value is close to or higher than steem. Is that the case at the moment?

I think so but am not 100%. I asked the same question but didn't get a straight answer.

Interesting idea, @revisesociology was kind enough to sponsor me.

Cool idea! Will look into this intereseting concept, surely.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #115 (4/25/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46