Steem Basic Income - Share some love

in #steembasicincome6 years ago (edited)

So I ran into @steembasicincome yesterday.

I'll not try to explain in my own words. Instead, I'll just copy the explanation from one of their posts:

Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

I'm not sure what to think about this compared to things like voting bots, except that the very way you yourself join is by sponsoring another steemian. This means you're not just investing in yourself, but also a fellow steemian, which is a step up from voting bots, right?

So, throwing all caution (and judgement) into the wind, I decided to try this and sponsored @binkyprod (who's an awesome person and deserves more votes) and @teutonium (who has been very active in commenting). Many others deserve this, ofcourse, but I can't hit you all right now! Besides, plenty of my followers actually earn more than these two and I hope this small gesture will help them grow their blogs.

Anyway, not the point. The point is, sponsoring anyone through @steembasicincome costs only 1 Steem, so that means it's quite easily obtainable, even for new steemians. It also means we can sponsor a couple of people without really losing much at all. Overall, I think it's an easy gesture of appreciation.

I haven't seen this at work yet on my own posts (entered yesterday), but here's an example of it on @teutonium's post:

And here's @binkyprod's latest post:

It's not a big effect judging from the position in the voting list, but heck, any vote is welcome, right? Besides that, the more 'shares' you obtain through this, the bigger the effect is. Check their blog out for all of the details.

Get to the point already!

Alright, I figured I can spend a little more. So I would like to ask you who you think deserves this little show of appreciation. You can't nominate yourself, but nominate any steemian you feel deserves this. Also, and this is important, tell me why you think this steemian deserves some love.

I'll pick the best one and sponsor that steemian through the @steembasicincome program. Be aware though, the program works through upvotes, so I'll only consider active steemians and I'll try to do a 'behaviour check' aswell (no over-active posting, no begging through comments, that sort of thing).

Show some love people!

Edit
I picked the winners! I said I'd pick one, but I only had three nominations, so I'll just sponsor them all!

Congrats guys and gal!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!


Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

Hi @playfulfoodie, Is nominating someone is thru comment? If yes, well here's mine :)

can I nominate ms.@dandalion, she is not only very helpful to me but to all of the people who seek for her help (even though you aren't asking for help as well). She is very accommodating, humble and kind. And she shares everything she knows about the platform without asking anything in return. She is truly an inspiration for me :) She never gets tired answering all my queries.

She always shows love and passion the way she share her knowledge that's why I believe she deserves to be loved back too ♥♥♥

Thank you for this opportunity :)

Hi there @annazsarinacruz! Thank you very much for your nomination of @dandalion, she sounds like a wonderful person :-)

I will pick a winner in a few days!

Yes she is :)

Thank you so much @playfulfoodie. I will look forward to it :)

Thank you, @annazsarinacruz! You sweet sweet girl! I had no idea you did this. I appreciate this very much!

You deserved it AteKo. I couldn't thank you enough for everything you've done for me. It is just my small way to thank you and I am happy that you appreciated it so much 😘😘😘😘

Oh my! I was away frim my laptop as I was sick the past few days and saw the notifications from busy just now. Wow! Thank you, @playfulfoodie! I appreciate this very much. I will check @steembasicincome now and might sponsor other worthy steemians too!

Kinda cool and thank you for your honest assessment @playfulfoodie!

I nominate @teamhumble as someone with a huge heart who's always thinking about how he can add value to this platform, who spreads the word of steemit out here in the "real" world and who always does his best to help steemians who ask him questions about media, making and production.

<3

Thanks for your nomination of @teamhumble! Sounds like a great role model for all of us Steemians :-)

I'll pick the winner tomorrow!

Thank you for registering me on Steembasicincome!! People told me about it but i never got around to do it. Do you know who is behind the project? Can't the owner of the account just stop, power down and get a lot of money from it? that's what makes me scared...
Well, it's hard to nominate just one person... but i guess i would have to say @nathan290595, he was the first guy i actually met on the platform and had been a constant source of support, atm he is not doing that many posts because he just got a new job and changing from one home to another and looking at places to rent, etc... but if you go take a look he is still trying to do posts once or twice a week!

Do you know who is behind the project? Can't the owner of the account just stop, power down and get a lot of money from it? that's what makes me scared...

I'm not sure who's behind it, though I'm sure it'll be written in one of their posts atleast. It is possible for the owner to just stop and run with the profit, which is always a bit scary when using services here. I figured I could take the gamble with a couple of Steem though. So far, they seem pretty serious about it and have documents online showing all the shares and such. They've been at it for a couple of months atleast I think.

Thanks for the nomination of @nathan290595! One or two posts a week should still work, because I think they check the amount of posts people release and adjust voting weight accordingly.

I'll pick a winner in a few days!

Yeah taking a gamble, it's not like 1 sbd will kill anyone! Didn't see any of those documents, would love to see them, do you know where i can find them?

It's from this post: https://steemit.com/basicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-membership-update-pulling-back-the-screen

It shows who had shares, how many, what pool, etc. I didn't dig in too deep, because it looked way too difficult for me!

Yes, seen it somewhile back and they do publish the names that was sponsored and their sponser.

Got to know about it via @trailofwhales and am very grateful for their sponsor, even though I dont know who they are

Thank you so much, my friend :) Yes, this does seem experimental, so we'll see how it works as we go along, I suppose. I read their post where they explain the rules, but maybe I'll need to read again alter, I'm very hung over today lol I had waaaay too much Disaronno. Anyway, I really appreciate you sponsoring me. Hopefully it does help, they seem to say we'll be getting some upvotes that's proportionate to how much we post in a week or something like that.

Oh no! Hope you feel less hung over by now :D

Yeah, from what I understand, the more you post, the less high the votes will be, as they try to stick to the same amount for everyone with the same amount of 'shares'.

Yeah, that makes sense. Keeping it level and proportionate.

Yes steemians deserve love and I guess not just steemian but everyone in the world. I think this "nomination" thing is very intersting and it would make this platform more valuable if people here can learn how to share love I guess through votes :)

Thanks for that explanation @playfulfoodie. I have seen this account popping up a few times but never really understood how it actually worked. Now I do. Although as you say the payouts look pretty low. On busy they are registereing as 0 so they're less than 0.01.

I'll have to go back to their blog and check out this bit "the more 'shares' you obtain through this, the bigger the effect is" and see what difference that makes.

Sounds like it could be a fun thing to do!

The votes are pretty low indeed. I didn't really expect otherwise, because there are plenty of people with 'shares' there and plenty with more than one aswell. I also noticed it depends on what 'pool' you're in. They have multiple accounts to be able to keep up with new applications and I noticed they differ a lot in voting power. Would feel more fair if they balance them a bit more, but who knows, maybe it's a work in progress.

Yes, the more 'shares' you have, the bigger the upvotes compared to people with less shares. You either get more by being nominated by people, or you can nominate people yourself by paying 1 Steem. That way, you get a share per nomination aswell.

That is interesting @playfulfoodie. I'll leave you to it for now I think. I have enough on my plate to be going on with. But I would be interested to know how it words out for you and your nominees. It is definitely something I might be interested in in the future if it works out well.

Ah well, soon you can see what 1 share does for your account and you can just look into it once you're ready! Or not, it'll work either way :D

Thanks for this post, your explanation was v good but i m new to steem so couldnt fully understand but i m sure will soon pickup... Keep sharing and updating

Welcome to Steemit! I remember how confusing Steemit was when I first joined, so don't sweat it, you'll get the hang of it eventually. Just keep on posting, reading and commenting. The rest (like the confusing wallet) comes with time :-)

Same here!!!! Having the same problems. Thanks for the advice. With time I will get better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53