Steem Basic Income: I May Already Be Sponsoring You!

If you're one of my followers and you haven't checked your Wallet lately, you might not have noticed. In the past week, I've sponsored three of you for Steem Basic Income. My intention is to sponsor 1-2 additional members per week over the next few weeks (SBD willing, of course).

Full credit: this is all due to a post @thedarkhorse made four days ago which you can read here. It got me interested in joining the experiment. Let's see what happens, shall we?

Now, I know you all have questions, so just think them at me and I'll use this Telepathic Helmet from @triverse to pick up your questions and answer them. It was on clearance though, so make sure only one of you thinks a question at me at a time, all right?


What Is Steem Basic Income?

@thedarkhorse answers this in the above post way better than I can, but SBI in a nutshell is a guaranteed upvote on every post you make, every day of the week. Sounds pretty cool, right? It may not seem like much, but if you're a frequent Steemit user, those few cents from every upvote can add up to dollars and grow your account automatically just by you doing what you've been doing since you joined the platform.

Wait, SBI is giving away free money? How do I get some of that?!

Easy. Just sponsor someone who you feel deserves the benefits of SBI by sending 1 SBD to @steembasicincome. Put the name of the user you wish to sponsor (along with the @ symbol in front) in the memo field. It takes a day or two for the SBI sponsorship to be processed because currently it's all being done manually, but you'll receive a note in your transaction log with a .001 Steem payment from @steembasicincome telling you you've been sponsored, and who paid for your sponsorship once the process is complete.

You, as a sponsor, will also earn yourself a share of SBI. If you sponsor more than one person, you will reap more shares of SBI, making the upvotes on your posts worth more, so the more you give of yourself in the short-term, the more value you generate for yourself in the long term. The SBD is invested in the SBI account, granting it greater upvote power and you never have to think about it again, because the upvotes are automatic! You can be sponsored by multiple people, and can receive sponsorships even if you've already been enrolled through sponsoring others. Basically, the more you give, the more you'll receive in return though it may take a while to earn out your advance, so don't go nuts.

How do I know if you've sponsored me?

Well, ideally you've already checked your wallet, seen the message from SBI, and realized that I paid your sponsorship. If not, then maybe this will come as a surprise to you. The three people I've selected as my initial sponsorships are:

  • @triverse - Buddy, if there's anybody out there who deserves this more than you, I don't know who the hell it could be. I've been working for and with you on our various endeavors now for almost eight years. You've helped me expand my horizons, broadened my exposure, and make a fair bit of money in the interim with all the great disaster stories to go along with it. If not for you, I wouldn't be here right now. When I decided I was going to start this SBI experiment, you were the first person I thought of. You also post so regularly I figured you'd earn my money's worth faster than just about anybody else.

  • @cryplectibles - Dude, you post so regularly how could I not throw a sponsorship your way? I love reading your stuff, seeing all the eclectic parts of your collection, and you were so awesome with shipping me those comics a few weeks back, I figured I'd give something back that is hopefully better than SBD. With any luck, you're already seeing the upvote returns on my investment. Keep doing what you're doing!

  • @peekbit - Your daily posts never fail to brighten my outlook on life. You've got a very...shall we say 'unique' mission here on Steemit, and it's both awesome and adorable enough to warrant a sponsorship here. With any luck, this will help you grow just a little bit faster and reach a larger audience who will enjoy your particular brand of happiness.

Why didn't you pick me, you fart-breathing dildo disciple?

Um, because I'm not, like, made of money? Seriously, I have four hundred of you following me, I have roughly 90 of you that I'm following, and if I were independently wealthy I probably wouldn't be on Steemit to begin with. So here's the deal: I'm starting with the people who I know best on the platform and who produce regular content, because I want my Steem dollars to stretch as far as I can.

If you're producing stuff I'm regularly upvoting, then chances are you're already on my short list of next sponsorships. If you aren't, I may not notice you until later, or at all. If you haven't posted anything in the past 30 days, my assumption is you've given up on the platform, either temporarily or permanently. I'm not going to unfollow you in case you come back, but I'm not going to waste perfectly good Steem Dollars on accounts that will never see a benefit from my investment.

The one thing I will not tolerate is begging, so please don't comment and request that I sponsor you or complain about someone else I've sponsored and that you were overlooked. I'm a happy-go-lucky guy most of the time, but whining irritates me. It's why I don't have children. I'm making no promises here, just putting it out there that Steem Basic Income is on my radar, I'm joining the experiment, and what my goals are, SBD willing. If you want to increase my opportunities to hand out new opportunities, give me an upvote. :D

I can haz doggo pix?

Uh...sure, why not...?

335539_265130040210690_212494932_o.jpg

KTHXBAI!

See you later.

That guy was weird.

What can I say, I'm like a black hole, I attract all types.

Anything else I need to know before I flip over to my wallet and start raining generosity on others?

Not really, although I think it would be awesome of everyone that I sponsor to pick one person they follow and offer up a sponsorship as well if it's within their means to do so. You don't have to, I'm not going to stalk your transactions and see if you follow through, but the more SBD the program generates, the better for everyone. Paying it forward is fun!


Thanks to all of my readers who beamed in their psychic questions. If I didn't answer yours, it was probably because you didn't think hard enough.

Work on that while I go about considering my next round of sponsorships and coming up with new ways to horrify and entertain you!

In the meantime, here is an extremely fluffy cow:


Source: I've no idea, it's been in my downloaded images folder for months.

Sort:  

I am very happy to see my post inspired you to sponsor a few people into SBI.

In case anyone is looking for ways to get more SBI shares they can check out my Pay It Forward Contest. It has SBI shares and a SBD bounty.

New contest starts up in about 18 hours. So still some time for this week's otherwise just join the new round.

@modernzorker hope you don't mind me dropping the link like that. If you do just ask and it will be removed.

I don't mind in the least, my friend. We're all in this together, after all. :)

Thanks!.. I think..Is this a new/different version of something like SteemVoter but just directly on the network as a user? Or is this like grade school and I have to buy a certain number of chocolate bars for a big race?

It should just start showing up as upvotes on each post (not comment) that you make. May not be worth much at the start, but every little bit helps, right? Nothing needed to buy or do from here on out, unless you want to increase your 'share' by sponsoring other people. Otherwise, just sit back and let the magic work. :)

this is pretty cool @modernzorker . I hadn't heard about this. I'm gonna dive and check it out. I'm glad I stumbled across your profile. I saw you on one of @peekbit posts. cheers.

🤭 oh my God! That's really something special... And really nice words in your laudation ☺️ I really appreciate the terms 'unique mission' and 'brand of happiness'. Thank you very much @modernzorker 😊
Now I will check the SBI project again and see how I can contribute... It's especially nice because I really think for some time past a basic income will bring many benefits and is really needed in our economy. So here we all can go a first step.
Thank you very much again... @peekbit

I've seen mentions of SBI but this is the first post that'll get me really looking into it. Good info.

Great idea. Once I get back into the swing of things, I'll also do the same! And I'm glad your telepathic helmet picked up my wondering about a fluffy cow.

And now for my next thought...

I did nothing more than pull up in the getaway car and ask if you wanted in on the fun. You got in of your own volition.

We have been near the top of the mountain, down towards the bottom, and explored a few caves in between these last eight years or so.

Thank you for sponsoring me in this project. I am interested in seeing how it goes.

As far as the adventures we have had, I am sure they pale in comparison to the adventures we have yet to embark upon. Thank you for being a friend, a brother even, in this wild ride we call life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53955.17
ETH 2265.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34