You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Automation and the Trolley Problem )

Those are very difficult questions and obviously, we don't know what we would do.

  1. Big dilemma right there. Do we know who those 5 adults are? they could be bad dudes and the one on the other track is the only good person left. Logic says that we go by numbers. That would mean to save the 5. But again - who are they. So, I totally don't know.

  2. Even more difficult. And even harder without more details. Are the adults very old? then, maybe the child. Overall, logic says to save the 5 adults.

  3. Maybe if they were the most evil person on earth who has done a lot of harm. But given the fact that I can't even dispatch a chicken, I doubt I could a person. However, to save 5 potential lives and knowing that the person is a killer, maybe coming after me or my kids, might make me do it.

  4. & 5 is in many ways the same question. I don't think that we can trust AI and actually, it has shown that AI is prejudice - since it is learning from people with prejudice and is actually enhancing those traits. So, at this point, I would not buy either since I don't think it would make a good decision.

Sort:  

Yes, the eternal dilemma of what we would say we would do, and when the time comes, what we would actually do! Thanks for your answers, it is hard to know without all the information at hand to clarify the situation, but in a fast moving situation, we just don't have perfect information anyway!

true. it is one of those impossible questions because every decision is going to be not a good one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38