My Steem Barometer 2020steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steembarometer5 years ago

This is in response to @bozz' Steem Barometer post. He had some questions about our impression of Steem, where it has been, where it is going, etc. and I thought it might be worth a full response post instead of just a comment. I will thus post his questions and my answers here.

How long have you been on Steem?

About 3-1/2 years now. I joined because I saw a liberty community here, and I was intrigued by the experiment with a blockchain as a foundation for a blog platform.

Did you have a goal in mind when you joined Steem?

I wanted to practice my writing, first and foremost. I honestly thought the site would fade into oblivion like so many other altcoins and related projects. It still might. Who knows?

Are you still on track with that goal?

I'm still writing fairly regularly, so yes.

How have your goals shifted?

I have started to be more active in grassroots moderation through @steemflagrewards in an effort to help make this platform better.

If your goals have shifted, what were some of the driving factors of that?

Before the last fork, we had an epidemic of flagrant abuse of the system. People were gaming the system, crowding out real content creators, and generally making the platform unappealing to new users. I wanted to work to change it for the better once I had a stake in the system.

Based on your expertise, faith, or other divination skills, where do you honestly see the overall value/landscape of Steem at the end of 2020?

I can't even begin to speculate. Cryptos are still an emerging technology. How they will provide value to the general population remains to be seen. I only know enough to know that my gut instinct is a terrible barometer for crypto prices. Governments want to horn in on this new monetary system that lies outside the control of their central banks. They, and their corporate cronies, will try to get in on the action any way they can. It could be messy. But we need to continue to fight for freedom. Maybe Monero will take off with its superior privacy. I don't know.

Sort:  

Awesome answers and insight. I like how you mention that this is all still emerging technology. I think in the tech world things generally move so quickly that it feels like three years is an eternity. I know I find myself in that mindset quite frequently. The reality is probably closer to us having not even scratched the surface of what blockchain can do or what cryptocurrencies can be. Thanks again for taking the time to post this!

Good stuff. And very worthy to participate in @Steemflagrewards. I would like to learn more about that

I suggest visiting their page and following the link to their Discord channel.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63277.26
ETH 2570.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82