Van Gogh [Bitcoin Edition] ^.^ Crypto Logo Art Challenge - Entry ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago

Thunmbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Yesterday I found a really interesting challenge - Crypto Logo Art Challenge [Bitcoin Edition] by @SndBox.
I was very excited to give it a try because the thought of combining art style and logo design was truly appealing.
Creating a logo requires compliance with certain rules, but in this case the sign is already set so it just needs to be incorporated in appropriate background.

Border_01 (2).png

THE SOURCE OF INSPIRATION

The whole idea started by combining two main things - the Bitcoin logo and the Van Gogh style. I really wanted to see how this is going to turn out, most of all, I haven't used this technique before.
This is the piece I used as an inspiration:
Starry-Night-Over-The-Rhone.jpg
Source

Border_01 (2).png

CHOOSING COLORS

Next step was to choose the right colors.
I didn't want to just pick some random colors so I used the help of two programs.
The first one is called The Pictaculous by Mail Chimp. I've known this little online program for years and it did a pretty decent job.
But last week one of the great designers I'm following on Steemit @multi4g submitted a post called Affinity Photo - How to Match Color. There he showed a new tool from Adobe - Adobe Color CC. It's also free and measures every photo that you like.

And here's a quick gif with the selected colors:
Adobe-Color-Palette_Frames.gif

Border_01 (2).png

From here on I can start doing my project. ^.^
Using the Bitcoin logo and one of the colors from the palette to make a contrast:
Crypto_01.jpg

Maybe this tone wasn't the right choice but I had to start from somewhere.
Also, my idea was to make the circle a light that shines brightly trough the night.

Border_01 (2).png

Next was making the brush strokes.
Started from a simple round brush and with some trials and errors came up with this:
Brush.jpg

Using the previous color palettes and controlling the opacity of the brush from 70-100% I started making strokes from the center out.

Border_01 (2).png

WORK IN PROGRESS

Crypto_05.jpg

Crypto_06.jpg

Crypto_07.jpg

Crypto_08.jpg

Adding more and more strokes until the whole canvas got covered up.
At this point something there was still missing.
The painting didn't look traditional at all. ^^'
That is why decided to add some texture on top of it just to give the feeling of embossed oil paint, reflected by another light source.
Patterns.jpg

For a better contrast, I had to duplicate the strokes' layer and chose Vivid Light mode with 50% opacity.

Border_01 (2).png

And here's the final result:
Crypto_10.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

I hope you like it!
^.^ Have a sunny day, everyone! ^.^
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Cool! I'm thinking about maybe doing a real painting with some oils in honor of Van Gogh!

That would be great! ^.^
Unfortunately, I'm not good with oils so I tried it digitally.

that looks really cool :)

Thank you, @multi4g! ^.^
And great thank you for the post about the colors! ;)

Watching it turn into an impressionist painting was fun :D Think that logo looks much better as a painting XD

goatsig

Thank you, @ryivhnn! ^.^
I don't know if the result is good enough, but at least the idea was interesting. ^.^

i love your drawing ! Especially your last post !

Thank you! It was fun to do! ^.^

Много яко!

Мерси, мерси! ^.^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54