Protect the River! ^.^ Illustration ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02.png

I always love working on different projects, especially when they carry a special message.
The same goes for this one. Couple of years ago a friend of mine asked me to make an illustration for their campaign to clean the downstream of the Danube river.
The Danube or Donau is Europe's second longest river, after the Volga. It is located in Central and Eastern Europe.
Source.

I was so excited but also very inspired by this project. They told me that I have couple of months 'till the deadline, but I finished it in just two weeks. XD
So lets move on to the sketching process. ;)

Border_01.png

The sketch needed three main things - a girl (as a representation of the river/nature), the river (or at least some water element in the composition) and the waterfront.
Grayscale_WIPs.jpg

To make this semi-realistic water surface I used a great tutorial called:
Displacement Water

The text was given to me by the client. It says: "Protect the River! It's ours!"
Well... I didn't wrote that... XD

Border_01.png

After my client was pleased with the sketch, I continued with adding colors.
The face went through several stages of development, you can see the steps here:
Face_WIPs.jpg

Border_01.png

Here are some other works in progress:
Plakat_11.jpg

Plakat_14.jpg

Plakat_16.jpg

Border_01.png

And the final version:
Plakat_17.jpg

Border_01.png

I was so pleased to see they printed the image on t-shirts and hats. ^.^
They even won an award with their campaign.
20933894_507397986273175_3047414293651657782_o.jpg

Border_01.png

Hope you like it!
^.^ Have a unique day, everyone! ^.^
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

This came out great! Loved seeing the process.

Thank you, dear! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it! ^.^

Браво,много ми хареса!

Мерси много! ^.^

Beautiful lady of the water, and a great message. I’m glad they won.
They wore your art, katalina!! :o :D

-upvoted-

Thank you, @scrawly! ^.^ I'm glad you like her! I was so excited to see my artwork on their t-shirt! ^.^
It's one thing to see it digitally, and completely another - printed on a wall and on fabric. And I got both! ^.^

Btw, congratulations on passing 50 reputation on Steemit! I'm very proud and happy for you, @scrawly! \o/ \o/ \o/ ;)

beautiful piece, katalina ! she really seems to embody the pure spirit to protect the river * ___ * her hair is really lovely <3 and her face is pretty flawless <3

Thank you, @veryspider! ^.^ <3 Despite the years I still love this piece. It does feel a bit static tho'. XD
But the client and her team liked her very much, so maybe that's the most important thing. ;)

I'm not surprised they decided to use that image everywhere, it's really pretty! Turned out beautiful including the modifications to the words to make them part of the image rather than floating :)

And you just render hair fantastically.

goatsig

Thank you so much, Ry! ^.^
Yeah, about the text... I tried different versions, but... think I could do it better. XD
Glad my client wasn't a graphic designer, so she was happy with the result. :D

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @veryspider to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Thank you, @steemrepo! ^.^
And special thanks to @veryspider! ^.^
Yes!

Lovely illustration, great message too

Thank you so much, dear @yidneth! I'm so happy you like her! ^.^

🎉 Congratulations @katalinaooma! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Oh, WOW, Thank you so muuuuuuch, @melooo182! ^.^ I'm so happy! ^.^
You made my day! ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62036.41
ETH 2418.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61