OC Alagart Sadmore WIP - 03

in #steemartists6 years ago

Wip_05-02.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Forgive me if I share every step of this piece, but it's basically all I do in my free time. ^^' My favorite OC Alagart Sadmore from the Inexplicit project in his morning outfit - he's a vampire, but can walk among humans in daytime. <3


In this post I'm going to show you how I did the wall decorations and the floor pattern.
So hop on and enjoy out little tutorial. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

I did some research on Rococo style (because I'm a huge fan of that period and all the floral decorations) and found some pictures on Wikipedia:
Hotel_de_Soubise_-_Grande_chambre_de_la_princesse_3.JPG
Source


I also used some of these designs on Freepik. The artist is pretty amazing:
set-of-damask-ornamental-elements_1217-842.jpg
Source


For the floor pattern I was inspired by Palacio Real de La Granja de San Idelfonso, Segovia:
2895-interior-palacio.jpg
Source

Border_01 (2).png

This was the previous version of my scene:
Alagart_013.jpg
From then on I created a new file with the same or close to my original scene's dimensions. My idea was to prepare the wall decorations first and transfer them into my main file when they are ready.

Border_01 (2).png

I made some basic panels with the pen tool. I want everything to be in vector shapes so that it does not lose its quality when transform.
Wall decorations.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Next step was dividing it in two.
Wall decorations_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Adding decorations in the corners.
Wall decorations_03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Some smaller columns between the main ones and more floral decorations.
That pretty much completes the design. Now's time to place it in the main scene.
Wall decorations_04.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

With some adjustments to the perspective this how it looks. Hm, needs a ton of work more, because of its flatness. These decorations should be embossed.
Alagart_015.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Before anything else I created another file for the floor pattern. Because the design was rather repetitive, I used my guidelines to build a basic grid.
Floor_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

After I was satisfied with the idea just had to save it as a Pattern in Photoshop's library using one of my oldest tutorials on Steemit.
Floor.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And finally, after couple of hours later, this is my work in progress so far.
I changed the colors and added more textures with the special help of @svdsdragunov.
Alagart_016.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like him.
Have a great day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Ahhhh freaking daywalkers they're such a pain to deal with (if you have to fight with them, I think in our group we just ended up running awaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy). The room is shaping up nicely, the patterns on th wall are still looking a little bit flat but can see the embossing in the top closest piece and it's looking nice :) The tiles on the floor in the corner look a bit too stretched, what happened there? Or is it just my sense of perspective that's skewed? XD He's looking pretty fabulous!

goatsig

Nooo, he's the nicest vampy out there. ;) He's calm all the time, very considerate and thoughtful... just a bit sad. XD

Thank you for your comment - I screwed up the floor perspective (you're just fine, dear). Because I was stretching the layer (all the tiles are in one layer) outside of the canvas, the pattern got deformed in the left corner. Have to find a way to fix that.

There's also a lot of work on that wall. As you noticed the decorations have a bit of emboss (I used a photoshop effect), but it's still not enough. ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you, @c-squared! Glad you like it!

There is no need to apologise when you’re making such quality post like this. If people mind looking at these kind of posts, they are probably crazy, ignore them XD.

You can actually do vector art, whoa! I find them too restrictive and hard to do. Hmmm maybe creating vector art might make a good post? Hehehe, just a thought.

Now that the room is nicely decorated, it’s fitting for Alagart to occupy :).

-upvoted-

Thank you, @scrawly! ^.^
I'm not very fond of vector art (I still hesitate to learn Adobe Illustrator), but had to do many vector shapes in Photoshop in my previous job. That was the time when I learned how to optimize my workflow (because the vector shape comes in handy when you have to make many changes and different versions of one shape). ;)

Yeah, finally, he can feel a bit like home. But I think he's still not satisfied enough. XD I'm planning to add some furniture as well. ;)

Wow what amazing content! He is so handsome and well drawn ! Thanks for showing your process. Im following and hoping to see more of Alagart!

Thank you, @emptyintentions! ^.^ I'm so glad you like it!
Oh, yeah, expect more from him soon. Weekend is coming. ;)

Love your step by step, Katalina <3 The way you establish patterns for the background stuff is just so thorough and nicely done <3

Thank you so much, Spidey! ^.^ <3 You're such a sweetheart. Too bad Al is already married, he would've been impressed by you. ;)

I think we all like step by step! It´s amazing, what you show us.

Thank you, dear! ^.^ I'm planning to share more of these WIPs. This scene is probably the most complex I've done so far. And the most time consuming. XD
I believe it's worth it tho'.

That would be great. I would love to see more WIPs 🙂
Yes, it is worth it!

Been a while since my last comment on your works. So happy to see you get more engagement in the platform nowadays. Been busy with my internship program to post anything on steemit. Keep up the good work :D

Thank you, @adamada! ^.^ I really hope you're doing great with your internship. ;) ^.^
I'm sharing as much as I can, apart from my work on the thesis, the tons of documents and papers that I have to prepare alongside with it.

This is looking really amazing @katalinaooma!!! 😁💙🎨
upvote with my new powah!! lol 🖖👽

Aw, thank you so much, Meloooo! ^.^ <3
You've got the POWER!!! ;) ヽ(^。^)丿

🎉 Congratulations @katalinaooma! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47