Commission - Nicolle ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Today's post is inspired by the amazing @midlet. ^.^
Two days ago we were chatting about the difficulties when painting relatives. I was surprised to know that I wasn't the only on facing them, hehe.
I've done dozens of portraits for the past 10 years, but the most demanding and difficult to make are those of my family (parents, cousins, etc.). Why? As @midlet pointed out very accurately - there's a lot more pressure when painting someone close to you, because the expectations are very high. You can spent hours and hours and if at the end of the day they ask you: "Who's this? I don't look like that..." is just... urgh...
I get emotional, 'cause this happened every time, haha. XD

Anyhow, couple of years ago my aunt asked me to paint my cousin who was just graduating from high school. I even received a reference photo, because she lives in a different city. Still, it was hard for me to finish it in time.
So from a Commission became the Mission, haha...
Hope you enjoy the process. ^.^

Border_01 (2).png

Here are the works in progress. Decided to combine them, because don't want this post to be too long.
Wips.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And the final version:
Niki_08.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Hope you like her! ^.^
Have a unique day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Well done! Can I ask what medium you were using?

Thanks to @tcpolymath, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you very much, @thedailysneak! I'm glad you like it! ^.^
This particular illustration was made in Photoshop CS5.
I'm really happy that you appreciate my work. ^.^

You're welcome! My wife is learning that photoshop stuff. I look on sometimes and I decide to stick with my spreadsheets and writing.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much, @c-squared! Much appreciated! ^.^

Really nice, @katalinaooma ! Wonderful step by step, and the result is so lovely ! Good polish on the skin tone and i love the jewelries' shine and the laces on her blouse <3

The earring seems to be stuck to her face on the right side of the piccar? Is that intentional, cuz the other earring seems to have a different center of gravity?

Lovely definition on her eyes * ___ *

Thank you, Spidey! ^.^
Um, yeah, actually the earring was like this on the photo too. XD I could've made it like the other one, but it was at the last moment. blush

Excellent artwork, my dear. You have a beautiful relative, judging from your art and she should be happy that you drew her nicely and gave you some well deserving praises for your hard work. You made her skin looks flawless, good job :).

Thank you, dear! ^.^ You're so sweet! <3
I'm glad you like it, it really took me a lot of time to finish the face, but hope it's worth it. ;)))

Oh how beautiful. Great work! My son came home from school one day with a picture he had drawn and I said to him who is that mean looking lady? He said it is you mama. 😂 I have been smiling ever since. It is interesting how your love ones see you.

Oh, what a sweetheart! ^.^ At least he tried and for him this is great achievement. ;)
I completely agree with you. We all see each other and the others differently. Our perception even changes when looking at the mirror and seeing ourself on a photo. XD

Your paintings are so photographic! How XD You did an amazing job, it's a beautiful portrait!

I know, Ry. but this is not something to be proud of. I think the reason is that I never went to an art school. I had lessons, but they were not enough so I started painting from reference photos. That's why I always try to draw as realistically as possible. And I'm developing my own style even today. ^^'

It is most definitely something to be proud of, it's not an easy thing to do. And having dealt with some of the people I knew who did art and/or film school, I'm going to take some convincing that it's all it's cracked up to be ;D

Thank you, Ry! Hm, I also heard some controversial things about art schools. I think at the end it all depends on someone's personality and determination. ;)

I haven't really been to art school (I think the course I did at uni was supposed to be a BA but it got changed to a bachelor of itself when I was partway through it so I don't know if that counts XD) so can't say anything about that. Definitely a lot depends on someone's personality!

One of my friends went to art school and if you want to talk history or the nitty gritty of technique she's a great person to talk to, she knows everything, just don't ask for crit unless you can handle a solid roasting XD (she's not being nasty, just trying to help, but that's apparently how they roll in art school O_O). Anyway after all that she's pretty free and easy and has a much broader definition of art than what some other people that come out seem to have.

Pretty much the opposite of another person I knew off a forum. Uhm...let's just say that I found them really rude and condescending and suffering delusions of grandeur believing they were THE authority on everything art-related because they went to some highly reputable art school (please don't ask me what now I've forgotten XD). I think that permanently coloured my opinion of art schools ;D

Congratulations @katalinaooma! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you, @steemitboard! Much appreciated!

Very preeetty! I really like how you put effort on small details ♥u♥

I did a portrait once for a close friend of my mom aaand let's just say she wasn't pleased. I think she got her hopes up because of what I post on social media but heey I tried! Realistic portraits are really hard >n<

I'm sure that with this one, you succeeded in your commission \o/ Very clean, smooth, and pretty!

Thank you, my dear! ^.^ Really glad you like it! ^.^
And don't worry, you did your best in making the portrait. I think the problem was the expectations of your mom's friend, they didn't match the reality. XD
Realistic portraits can be really hard, I'm struggling with one right now. It's a commission I have to finish 'till tomorrow. XD

Wow, you're killing the photo-realism game. And you're so right; drawing people closer to you is so much more difficult. It's funny, I recently drew a piece with a cartoon version of my parents and both of them said the same thing about my renditions of them. They both thought that I nailed the other parent but that I didn't quite get them.

Thank you, my dear! <3 <3 <3 And, yeah, I guess it's the same with everyone. ^^'
I'm sorry about the late answer - I'm currently working on two jobs and taking other commissions. XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62