Amaryllis

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

Banner_01-02.png

^.^ I got used to this greeting ever since a made my deviantart account. ^.^
Lately have more time to explore some incredible artists on Steemit. One of them @shinyforest inspired me to be more creative with my posts by adding additional visual details and borders. I'm a visual person (I tend to judge a book by its cover not its resume) so decided to do something about it. And so this will be my greeting image from now on (maybe I'll change it later, depends on my mood, hehe).

Border_01.png

On this post will show you drawing from one adorable reference photo of Jessica Alba:

inocencia2764du-girl-woman-photography-sexy-celebrity-гламур-glamour-portraits-fashion-jessica-alba-pics_large_2d2ba_16026807.jpg

Here's the initial sketch:
Amarilis_01.jpg

Even though I often use reference photos for my works, always like to add something from me. It's only natural 'cause we see the world through our mental patterns, our understandings and believes, not as it is. In his recent book How to create a mind Ray Kurzweil explains that in the neocortex there're more than 300 million pattern recognition circuits (crazy, ha). So even if we see the same thing, we don't analyze it the same way. That's what defines us, makes us unique.
But enough with the lecturing. Time for the serious stuff. :D

Border_01.png

In this case the ear is replaced by a thin membrane with some jewelery. My friend and I created a side story for The Inexplicit project and one of the characters had the same features so I decided to use it this drawing.
But lets move on.
Some colors and background were added, nothing too pretentious.

Amarilis_02.jpg

And the final piece:

Amarilis_03.jpg

I'm planning to make gifs with the process in my next posts (still have to learn how to though :D )

Hope you like her!
Have a happy day, everyone!

Sort:  

She is beautiful, katalina :D!

What a coincidence that we both drew our ladies in profile view! To tell you the truth, when I started my drawing, I didn't know of the term Amaryllis, she's only Belladonna in my head. Only afterwards when I had to write the post that I did a little research about the flower. So your lady is the real Amaryllis ^^.

I wonder if you will draw her again? :)

I upvoted it, out of habit ^^;.

I noticed the same thing about the pose, @scrawly, yeah, what a coincidence! But maybe because this pose gives the feeling of pride, inner strength and independence?

No need to worry, your sense of beauty and aesthetics gave you the right answer how to portray her. ;)

I think I'm going to redo the entire painting. I got inspired by your flower series, I also have other characters named on flowers so I could make a small series with them. ;)

Oh, no, @scrawly, save your Voting Power for the others, they deserve it more. :S

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44