Trying again with the Chunky Rose Quartz...

in #steemartists5 years ago

Hi again!

You may remember my post about the last ring I attempted with the beautiful chunky faceted rose quartz stone. I have 3 stones like this so I thought i would try making another one since I wasn't super happy with the last one but learned a lot. I wanted to apply what I had learned- mostly keeping the bezel height around the lowest facet's low point.

This will be a short post because I didn't take any process photos for this piece. I need to stop working at night so I can take more shots along the way!

Anyways, I am super happy with how this one turned out. While the last one was fun in that I went kinda crazy playing with textures & oxidization, the final piece was a mess. This one I kept very simple because the stone really speaks for itself.

image.png

I kept the brass bezel because it just complimented the pink stone so well. For the shank, I went with a double half round. It's sturdy but doesn't look too chunky and heavy because of the cleavage down the centre. I think it's just perfect for this stone. I also went much much lower with the bezel. I was a bit worried that it wouldn't hold the stone properly, but it worked perfectly. Less excess metal meant that it smoothed out so nicely, hugging the stone beautifully.

image.png

I ended up giving this piece to my lovely mama as a part of her birthday/mothers day combo gift. She loves it (of course she always tells me she loves the things I make, no matter what so who knows). It fits on her middle finger perfectly. Since she started wearing it, she tells me that the stone sometimes looks bright white rather than pink in some lighting, which is super cool. I love neat stones!

Thanks for reading- drop a comment below- would you wear this ring? Why or why not?

Peace & Love

Caitycat

Sort:  

I have a nice quartz ring too -- but it's not for my finger...

god damn I love how those faceted quartz pieces look

This post is supported by $10.0 @tipU upvote funded by @mstafford :)
@tipU voting service: instant, profitable upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Congratulations @caitycat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64092.96
ETH 3145.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88