Caribbean Dream ~~ (Part 2)

in #steemartists6 years ago (edited)

I was sitting quietly..

Staring at the progress of my current project. Something about it I did not like. Although at first glance the cloud mass at the middle (and which composes the majority of the painting at this point) was not sitting right with me. Yes, your right..I am speaking in past tense. Your right, because I made some big changes to it. I consider them big because it will change the angle/point of view for this scene. After much thought, staring and debate (with myself of course and quite possibly out loud. Oh I suppose maybe the dogs were listening) I decide to push forward with the changes I thought were needed. Overall I wanted to keep my interest and stay true to my original vision of what I thought this would look like completed.

The New Progress..

0DE5A38E-DAD0-436A-95B4-EFB2F0485164.jpeg

What it was before the changes..

04636560-A16B-4365-8AFA-3DC9CA8B0A96.jpeg

My Vision..

578BA37B-8A78-4C28-8357-74908256D2C4.jpeg
Photo Credit - Dave DiCello Photography | Jamaica | Clouds over the beach in the morning HDR - LINK

So I Just Dove In..

Not literally (haha)..I didn’t paint the water in yet! I put some paint onto the hardboard so there is no turning back. Well..I could I guess if I wanted to :-/ I am liking what I see forming up here. This is the vision I had for this painting. This is the scene I have in my memory of those vacations to the Caribbean. Looking out across the crystal turquoise waters to the edge of the horizon. Sitting on the edge of the ocean are puffy white clouds forming straight and narrow towers like dominos on a pretty blue table. To me they are like thunderheads trying to develop, but never really gaining enough energy to establish their dominance.

I chose to use my finger for all of these new clouds..

9D5B823C-8F0A-4CD4-89C4-256B7DA92FC5.jpeg

8CDD5E14-524A-4ACC-BE49-B930AA5D947E.jpeg

I Am Excited Again..

To work on this painting during my free time. I don’t get a bunch of that these days, but with the weather turning colder and the days growing shorter (here in the NorthEast US) I am actually gaining a little free time. I think I’ll work on this a bit tonight even..NO WAIT!! It’s Halloween..Trick-Or-Treaters will be knocking on my door. The painting will just have to wait until tomorrow :-(

Check back in for a follow up! Thanks for swinging by my blog.

Associated Posts:

POST 1

I APPRECIATE all the upvotes and follows my fellow Steemians!! You Rock!

Sort:  

Oh I see! Yes, you talked about how the clouds weren't really going to where you had wanted them in the previous post, and now I can see where you want to go :) I think you're making wonderful progress, @bdmillergallery!

Love the touch of aquamarine at the last picture :) Looking forward to seeing this finished, for sure <3

It’s funny sometimes how the vision in your mind is reluctant to translate on to the ‘canvas’. I know what I want to paint, I just can’t get my hand to paint it. Grrrrrrrr. Lol.

Like some musician once said .. All I need is a little patience.

Thanks for the insight and the compliments @veryspider !!

great... now i have "Caribbean queen" stuck in my head. Thanks!

:-/
Sorry?? Lol. It’s in my head now too.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26