You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OFFICIAL CALL FOR STRUCTURE PROPOSALS | STAGE ONE

They should eliminate stake weighted voting and have one account = one vote with AI weeding out users with multiple accounts.

I don't think eliminating stake weighted voting is necessary or desirable but protection against Sybil attacks is of interest. It would be a tough problem for an AI.

I mean most users can identify patterns that indicate an alt intuitively but it would be tough to translate all that into code. Betcha whoever pulls it off is going be one rich son of gun!

It's an interesting idea to think about but not sure it could be done in a fool proof manner. Maybe. 🤔

Wont happen the decisions are made by people with lots of SP and they benefit by self upvoting and circle jerk voting and renting out steem to bidbots.

Think this right here could be the fatal flaw of the system. The ones that are the most ruinous to Steem are generally those that gain the most influence.

The bad is just too deeply entrenched that it seems a fools errand to try to fight at this point. Guess that makes me a fool!

I am careful though. I deploy my time but not really a lot of capital as I work hard for that shit unlike the rewards some many lazy assholes and vote buying participation trophy winners.

Because of these things, I see Steem more suitable as a hobby than a serious investment platform. It's hard to take serious when so many treat the reward mechanism as if it were a joke.

It's not all bad though. We got a handful of good people around here that I care about. I just hate our kind being at a disadvantage to these ever growing assholes seemingly with little scruple bypassing ethics for profits.

If I had a magic button to fork this chain, spontaneously manifest an infrastructure, and airdrop only to users that don't fit the douchebag patterns, I would do that shit in a second.

We can probably fix a lot of the issues on this chain but, unless we can fix the distribution, they are pretty much just Band-Aids over a festering wound.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It was a mistake, in my opinion, to not have moderators who could actually delete spam, not hide it but delete it, and shut down bad accounts. Expecting users flag and use their own SP to get of spam is kind of idealistic. The whole "no censorship" thing has resulted in lots of problems. Once again just my opinion. They are are other pay you crypto sites that are development now that have learned from steemit's mistakes. Someone will do it right.

"...It was a mistake, in my opinion, to not have moderators who could actually delete spam..."

I have to pretty strongly disagree. Given how censorship has, and is now burgeoning, across the entire web, that kind of power to censor would certainly bite us in the free speech. Particularly considering the very abuse you guys are discussing, and much else presently impacting Steem.

The last thing we need are censors, because that will be the end of Steem, IMHO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70