You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 17 - Steem Advent Calendar 2018, Win prize everyday! 🎄🎁

in #steemadvent6 years ago

OK, here goes... I'm another person who NEVER makes resolutions. This year I think I will.

No. 1) Work on getting healthy. I was smoking pot. Waaay too much, and I've done it for years. I didn't see any harm, and indeed I have often talked about benefits I felt I was getting, but recently I've noticed how congested my chest feels. I was wheezing with every breath. I was becoming paranoid. So for me, this has to stop and I quit smoking five days ago, only to find it isn't as easy as it sounds. I started shaking, and feeling VERY nervous. I'm sticking to it though, and today is the first day I've started to feel better. I've also lost some weight and I'm walking more... so that's number one.

No. 2) Keep working on my own website. (keithboone.com) I've paid for it for two years and now I need to get a lot more content on there... and also figure out just exactly what it's supposed to be for! Learning Wordpress and continuing to improve my little site are a major goal and resolution for next year.

No. 3) Work on increasing my photography sales. I get some sales but they don't come often enough and I haven't made enough effort to make it happen. Next year I want a minimum of a dozen sales - one per month. I haven't had one since October - this won't come easy, but you don't know if you don't try. To a real pro, this would be a joke, but for an amatuer and aspiring photographer getting sales and making a profit are a huge challenge. Many of my sales at art shows and so forth have actually come at a loss, or only at a break-even point. I'm sure that overall I have only lost money up to this point, and that's not even considering gear... so there's number 3.

No. 4) Get in touch with some of my friends that I have lost over the years. I became too introverted and shy (from the pot?) and it has cost me in terms of relationships. This has really come to my attention over the past week when I learned that a dear friend is dying - and I ignored her for a year, and now it's too late. You cannot imagine the pain and guilt I am feeling over this, and so now I have to make some changes.

No. 5) ALL of this comes down to wanting to be a better and more successful person. So, while it may not be original, it's me.

Sort:  

Sincerely wishing you huge success with all your resolutions! It sounds like you have a great journey planned out for next year! ❤️

Thank you, Melinda. I don't like revealing this much about myself, but how else can you talk honestly about resolutions?

I've come to realize that not many people pay very close attention to my words, so I tend to write my comments to please myself. I love reading honest authentic comments.

Well, you got one ;)

Those are great resolutions, Keith. As for your No. 4...I think we all need to try to reach out to old friends before it is too late. This has happened to me twice recently when I thought of someone, never did anything about it and the next thing I hear of their passing.
Wishing you good health and much happiness. ❤️

Thank you, yes it's so sad when that happens. I've been just torn apart by the news of my friend. It is in fact what prompted resolution number 1.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36