Day 3 - Steem Advent Calendar 2019, Win prize everyday! 🎄🎁

in #steemadvent5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

2010 or 2011 got my first BTC for free from a friend, then i got more from a faucet

I learned back around 2010 and 2011. I found out about Bitcoin through programming/coding forums. I actually ended up accumulating somewhere between 50 and 100 BTC from faucets alone. However, I never thought anything of it and didn't save the private keys when I recycled an old computer. At the peak of BTC, that was worth 500k to 1 million dollars. It's something I try not to think about too much these days. It's just as bad as the 10,000 BTC pizza guy.

I also remember the days back when Ethereum was trading around $3-$4 and I really wanted to buy some. However, I didn't due to my income situation. Another thing I kick myself for.

It was a couple years before I realized the true potential of blockchain technologies and began to invest money into it. Now, today, I focus a majority of my free time on the subject and love everything about it! I'm maintaining a blog where I write about cryptocurrencies and money, though I don't have much myself (yet, haha!), @ https://treepi.me/ . It is syndicated with my Steem account. I'm also working on some small Steem scripts and other little things for other chains. This is only the beginning and I believe we still have quite a long and bright future ahead! :D

This time, don't forget to buy some steem at 12 cts ;)

Haha! Yeah, I've been trying to save some up. I have about 2000 Steem that I'm trading around with. Really hope they lower the power down period. I'd hate to power it all up and then end up having some kind of emergency you know?

Ouch. Your not the first person with those stories around here but it always hurts to read them. Hopefully you will win on STEEM this time around.

Yeah, it happens. No big deal though, it's just money. And at the end of the day there are a lot of other more important things in life. Would have been nice to have it though! xD

I learned about it at 17 from my high school ap computer science teacher where he showed me how to use steem and grow on the platform. He gave me 30 cent votes to help me start of then I went off on my own.

Sounds like you had a pretty awesome teacher!

Yah he was great. His steemit name was Hansenator but he got a better job at a university and quit steemit.

Bring him back!

He hasn't responded to my steemit stuff in a while and he told me. He said he might come back

It was sometime this year. I have been doing research on alternatives to mainstream social media and just tell into it. I started really digging in, in August when I joined steemit and blockstack. I have since joined a few others but the first two are my main chains.

I heard about the Universal dividend project in 2016
https://duniter.org/en/
Did you get your universal dividend ?

It’s an quite interesting thing how I learned about blockchain because it’s started with an scam which make me loss of 500$. Let me explain it’s an scam based on bitcoin and at that time I doesn’t know anything about bitcoin, the scam was prompted by friend circle and they also doesn’t have any idea that this is an scam the scam was saying we will double you money in 180 days and it’s will be profit to your so I invested in that but doesn’t got any after that I started thinking bitcoin is an scam but one of my friend told me that this scam was not bitcoin, bitcoin is very great technology just these scammers are using it as an tool to scam people after that I started searching about bitcoin and through bitcoin I got to know about blockchain and few months I got to know steem and time goes after that.

I won money from sports betting in 2013 and decided to cash out in btc because the fees were cheaper. I kept the btc for about a month but didn't trust it, so I sold. Three years later I came across a bitcoin documentary and decided to do more research. I opened up my wallet for the first time in 3 years and saw that the dust I left multiplied 3-4x. I was upset that I didn't leave more money in and admittedly suffered from some FOMO. I started watching youtube videos made by Andreas Antonopoulos and would watch every interview of vitalik buterin that I could find.... and now I'm here.

It was back in 2016 a friend of mine told me they had just purchased Bitcoin and it kept going up and I thought I’d try my hand in it! Then I met a guy starting an exchange in South Africa and we had a few conversations and from then on in I started diving down the rabbit hole

It was basck in 2014 when i was working at building an ecommerce plateform to sell good online. It's when i head about bitcoin and started my research and learning.

I first heard about bitcoin and Ethereum in 2016. I wasn’t sure what to think. I found out about Steem in 2017 and thought it was the most interesting 🤔 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56