You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I haven't written on Steem in a while. Here is why. (by Charlie Shrem)

in #steem7 years ago

I just saw a documentary "Banking on Bitcoin" with you in it and was struck by the hypocrisy of you serving time because someone used your service for drugs while at the same time much more damage has been done by the bankers who provided the tools for drug cartels to do thousands of times more damage without going to jail.

Then seeing Benjamin Lawsky sit up there like a pompous ass act as if he has the right to control or even the wisdom to understand what he was trying to control was beyond obscene. He's on the wrong side of history.

I've been around for a long time and have been waiting for this moment in history which I never thought would come in my lifetime. But one of these cryptocurrencies is going to become the next Google of finance and it's going to cause massive infrastructure inversion (as Andreas Antonopoulos puts it). Authority will not be able to control it. Their manipulations will be rendered moot.

I'm also an IT person (software dev) and having studied the various technologies that underlie bitcoin, I know that eventually we will either have panopticon first or star trek. Data breaches like Equifax make the latter inevitable, it's just a matter of time. I'm convinced of that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80