I haven't written on Steem in a while. Here is why. (by Charlie Shrem)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Update- Here is the first post I'm publishing for a writer: https://steemit.com/story/@charlieshrem/letter-to-an-inmate-by-garryke-reposted-by-charlie-shrem

I had a dream last night.

I walked into a bookstore and there was a petition started by asking me to continue writing on the platform. It was not hostile, but the general tone was that I let the community down.

Over the past few weeks, I've posted less and less. This has nothing to do with my belief in Steem. In fact, I've been more active than ever working behind the scenes. I will be speaking about Steem in Miami and Switzerland in the next few months as well.

I noticed that when I wrote, I was taking funds from the rewards pool from other writers who also deserved their share of the rewards pool. I'm flattered that everyone loves my writing, but at the same time I want to encourage new writers.

So I took a step back and noticed a better distribution in the rewards pool.

But I miss it. I miss writing. I miss the comments and everything that comes with it. Writing is therapeutic.

So this is the solution I came up with:

  • The 'Charlie Shrem' account will now feature up and coming writers. These posts will be personally vetted and read by me first and will be the highest caliber. Some of these writers will not be on Steem yet, so I will be introducing them.
  • ALL rewards from those posts will be given to the new author.
  • I will continue my writing and posting a new Geek in Prison post this week!

TO THE MOON!

-Charlie Shrem

Sort:  

UV and RS this post for you Charlie.


I appreciate you a lot. Some of us are not tech pros online or bloggers but work really hard at making content and have had to learn all this since joining here.


I appreciate your heart man, I have always told you that online. We are lucky to have you trying to continue the chase of true #Liberty for us being a leader in a space that is rapidly evolving daily some of us are not 100% familiar with.

I will say it again, I really appreciate you Charlie.


Didn't you lose your passport along with your conviction? (re. "I will be speaking about Steem in Miami and Switzerland")

I was curious about that too...

Could be also a video conference?

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Just write normally and write what you want. I have made more than my share of rewards during the life of Steemit so far, but I keep writing and posting. One reason for this is that I enjoy writing about various subjects. The second reason is that I use most of my earnings to fund other programs such as @outreach . The featured author idea has been tried extensively and there was some backlash, so those who were running those posts ended them when we got the re-steem feature. You are welcome to try featuring authors and see what the community thinks, but I would be more interested in reading your own blog. Just don't overdo it; post once a week or so and no one should complain.

I will say what many are probably thinking -- this has been tried before, and it was outright awful. I don't think it can't be done well. But i do know that it has been done very badly in the past (this is, of course, my subjective opinion). though, IMO this:

ALL rewards from those posts will be given to the new author.

is a huge step in the right direction.

just this one guys opinion, but IMO, you should promote it with this account, but have it posted with an account that belongs to the actual writer. Especially with resteem, promoting it from your account should be easy.

For one thing, that will make it easier to get that other guy/gal the SP. For another, IMO you (or anyone else for that matter) shouldn't be getting a reputation bump for posting someone elses work.

Also what happened to steempower.org?

YES, you are 100% correct in the method you explained, any other way would look shady and be shunned upon by the community

I disagree about reputation boost. I think it is good for a person to do this and therefore makes sense that their reputation get a boost for doing it. But I also think the reputation system is currently extremely flawed (and still subject to drastic changes if I'm not mistaken).

But I agree with you on the practicallity of resteeming rather than posting and then transferring. I would hope that @charlieshrem would still write his own content, and if he feels the rewards should be distributed more widely he can decline payout from time to time. It's a good example to make and I have a lot of respect for him for recognising the value in wider distribution of the reward pool.

I guess you never noticed that "decline payout" option

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

If you want to post without taking the funds you can decline payment and if you want to help distribute other authors work you can resteem and promote their posts, but when established authors begin posting newcomer's content on their account it is usually only to exploit them for their SP.

I really hope that this is not your intention.

even if it's not his intention, it will be the perception of those who are seeing it, more so because the posts will most likely make it to the #1 spot on the trending page, I think it's a bad idea to post content from other writers.

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

You can still post and decline payouts. I think people appreciate your perspective because many of us have followed your story from before we joined Steemit. I like the idea of featured writers too though :)

Bonjour
Vous souhaitez bénéficier d'un crédit pour sortir de l'impasse que provoquent les Banques, par le rejet de vos dossiers de demande de crédits. Vous souhaitez bénéficier d'un crédit pour la mise en œuvre de vos projets ; entreprendre vos activités ; construction de vos maisons ; location Maison ou Appartement ; achat Maison, etc. Nous offrons nos prêts à des personnes de bonnes moralités sérieux capables de rembourser.
Vous seriez satisfait dans les brefs délais. Vous pouvez payer durant 3 ans jusqu'à 20 ans en fonction de la quantité de prêt octroyé. C'est à vous de voir pour les paiements mensuels avec un taux d'intérêt de 3 %. Il vous suffit de Contacter par mail :
[email protected]
Et vous serez satisfait
PS : personnes non-sérieuses s'abstenir

Competition for the rewards is an inevitability. The answer to this issue of limited rewards is to get the market cap to grow so there's more rewards to go around. In the long run even Charlie Shrem will have tough competition, but competing in a larger pool.

Good night
I apologize for the intrusion my original emanuella sambagini name
Italian and I live in France, I suffer from throat cancer and I intend to donate all
My property. I now have in my personal account; the sum of
60000 euros that I had kept for a construction project. But I
Will be ready to give you this money that will help you in your
Company, to also make your own name a project that holds you
To the heart, I ask you to consider my offer because
It is a gift that I offer you. I do not want to
Know if you can benefit from this gift. I suffer a lot and
I am very afraid, I almost can not sleep at night as the day
Because I do not want to die without having donated all that money
Otherwise I think it would be a disaster. I lost my husband 3
Years, who touched me a lot and I could not remarry until
We had no children. Please contact me
As soon as possible if you agree with my offer. That peace and
The mercy of God be with you.
My e-mail address is: [email protected]
Please pray for me, even if you do not answer me
May the peace of Christ be with you

Nostalgic Aaah... the return of the "featured author"

Bonjour
Vous souhaitez bénéficier d'un crédit pour sortir de l'impasse que provoquent les Banques, par le rejet de vos dossiers de demande de crédits. Vous souhaitez bénéficier d'un crédit pour la mise en œuvre de vos projets ; entreprendre vos activités ; construction de vos maisons ; location Maison ou Appartement ; achat Maison, etc. Nous offrons nos prêts à des personnes de bonnes moralités sérieux capables de rembourser.
Vous seriez satisfait dans les brefs délais. Vous pouvez payer durant 3 ans jusqu'à 20 ans en fonction de la quantité de prêt octroyé. C'est à vous de voir pour les paiements mensuels avec un taux d'intérêt de 3 %. Il vous suffit de Contacter par mail :
[email protected]
Et vous serez satisfait
PS : personnes non-sérieuses s'abstenir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73