How Much is the New Steem Account Creation Fee Right Now?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Hopefully, Hard Fork 20 will get successfully implemented on Steem blockchain before this post pays-out. (So don't wait until 30 minutes to upvote this post, 15 minutes is enough, I guess 😉).

How many RCs per 1000SP?


Its interesting to know that to gamify the Steeming system further, Velocity HF is introducing Resource Credits (RCs) now. But I've heard that the RCs needed to open a new Steem account under Discounted model would be significantly higher and will need a lot of SP. Although personally, I feel that account opening transaction doesn't put too much of load on the blockchain, however operating that account may need some RCs. But since Steem is a freemium model, some RCs should always come as free with a new account. Still can you guess, what will be the actual account opening cost after the fork?

Yes, I want a new Steem account


I was thinking to open one more account on Steem. But I'm unsure of whether should I do it right away or it would be good to wait for the HF?

So what's the new account creation fee right now? Blockchain explorer is not loading this data at my end. But I checked the recent accounts created by @blocktrades and found that account creation fee of 3 Steem was paid. So dividing this by 30, I get 0.100 Steem as new account creation fee.

I tried opening a new account using SteemConnect with this figure plus some Vests but couldn't open the account. Since HF 20 will do away with the system of new account opening with the help of delegation, I was just being curious to use this system now 😊 However, I also tried Steem account creator and it lists account creation cost as 6 Steem. I guess, it's not updated and didn't work for me.

So can you help me with these questions:

  • What is the current account creation fee on Steem?
  • What is the minimum Steem & Vests requirement to open a new account using the SteemConnect tool?
  • Would it be cheaper for me to open an account now or should I wait for the implementation of Velocity?

Thank you for all your help!

UPDATE:


Well, I was finally able to do what I intended to do and created an account with 0.1 Steem & a delegation of 14.5 SP. (Surprisingly, I saw 3 users following it as soon as it was created!)
But I'm still looking for the answers to my last question.
Thanks!

Sort:  

Dear my friend, sorry but i cannot understand why you should make another account, i do not think new version need to move to another account, if it is true is crazyness!

No, no; new account has nothing to do with the new version. Not everyone needs multiple accounts. It's my personal preference to use different account for different purposes.

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Sorry, had to downvote this for executing a fair distribution of Steem Bounty on this post!

It took me $20 to create my account.

How come? Did you use Anonsteem for anonymous account creation? or was Steem prices at its peak at the time you created your account?

I simply go to https://www.steemcreate.com and create an account for $20.

Good to know that you used this tool to create your account. I think, Blocktrades is cheaper than this but may be they are giving you some extra support, I dunno. Since I'm already on Steem, I don't prefer to pay anything on top of the official account creation fee.

Thankfully, I was finally able to successfully use SteemConnect tool ...the cheapest available tool to my knowledge.

@xyzashu has set 2.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

@xyzashu has added 2.000 STEEM of bounty on this post!

Did I? I don't think so! 🤔

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Hello xyzashu
You are welcomed by the service of FreeResteem.
We want to bring more people to your post.
If you like our service then put a upvote under this comment.
Thank you for remain with Steemit.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xyzashu from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I remember paying $3 for opening an account, it was automatically added to my STEEM, then I converted it to Steem Power. But I heard from developers that after the fork, what you will pay is going to be burned and not added in your wallet.

Yeah that's true. But what if I have sufficient RC to create and operate an account? BTW, blocktrades charge 1 Steem over the account creation fee. So you will get only 3 SP for 4 Steem.

Account creation is free. You just may need to wait a few weeks before getting it. You could also purchase an account for about $5 USD on the https://steemmonsters.com/ site. It has an option to participate in their game @steemmonsters and join Steemit for a total of $10. Half the $10 fee ( $5 ) is to purchase the starter pack for their game. The other $5 is to create your new Steemit account.

Well, only one account creation is free. I'm not the one who use multiple emails or mobile nos. for verifying multiple IDs.

And my bad luck, I've no interest in games, so no monsters please!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58