You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Glitches

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

This has never happened to me that I am aware of. Someone just told me that you just unfollowed them and was wondering why
I hope you get the answer. I am wondering how myself

At a minimum I would change my keys

Sort:  

Someone just told me that you just unfollowed them and was wondering why

It is possible, as I do a purge of my follow list every couple of weeks. I like to keep my feed manageable and it could be due to a number of reasons. I find it hard to keep up being on the low end of the voting power scale, despite renting delegation to give me more votes/higher voting power. For example, in the last week, I have cast 140 votes that were not dust votes. At times still driving myself down in the 70% area. Despite renting 2/3rds of my voting power this is still a problem for me. I still do not get to upvote many of the posts in my feed that do interest me.

So I do regular purges mostly for that reason as I weigh out what content holds more value for me. I lean more towards philosophy, law, conspiracy etc so those who post in these areas are far more likely to gather my votes/make the cut than those who are blogging about things that aren't usually interesting to me. Nothing personal against those people and if I had unlimited voting power I would not need to make these distinctions.

Sometimes it might be with the way someone conducts themselves, changing their behavior in some way I am not a fan of. I do not pass judgement in the sense it keeps me up at night or that I want to challenge someone personally, I will quietly withdraw my support and move on. I am pretty big on freedom, especially how one handles their blog/their stake. The closest I have come to saying something openly on behavior on the site was this post here.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@practicalthought/making-authors-pay-for-their-votes

At a minimum I would change my keys

I am guessing that this is not it, as I have never seen behavior to indicate a hack of my computer or that this account has been compromised. No emptying of the wallet etc, just stuff like followers being lost with no record of their unfollow, and this more recent case where one of the 5 witnesses I vote for was suddenly not getting my vote. Not the type of thing a hack would typically consist of. When I first discovered this, I kept it to myself thinking perhaps it was my imagination, but I now know of four other people this has happened to with the follow list. The changing keys is still a good idea though, and something I did just a week or so ago.

Thanks for commenting.

@practicalthought I was the one that mentioned to @wolfhart that I noticed you had unfollowed me. If it was intentional let me know what I did as I'm always open to constructive criticism.

I have also noticed those 1 cent or less votes and that is kind of annoying that people are doing this. Not sure why people think that giving next to no voting weight is the way to go. I still try to target 3 cents as I know that will payout, but sometimes after my VP is to low that percentage turns into .02

Anyways had 3 people all unfollow in a matter of a day while I was out of town and it kind of surprised me. If you prefer to chat on discord or other place just let me know. I'm pretty flexible as to where you can reach me.

If it was intentional let me know what I did as I'm always open to constructive criticism.

I'm sorry that my actions left you wondering if you had done something wrong. You are one of the more honorable people i have encountered here on Steemit, and can't imagine you doing something wrong by my standards honestly. Having said that, I did unfollow you and will explain why.

I began following you originally because of your Pay It Forward initiative. But as time has dragged on, my participation dwindled quickly for a few reasons. Despite this, votes permitting, I still try to upvote some of the participants and their entries. But now you are transitioning over to the PIFC account, so I have that one on my follow list. Other than the PIFC, you blog very little, prone to resteeming others posts. I would estimate 3/4ths of your posts are wither the contest or resteeming others posts who I do not follow.

Again, please don't feel it is anything you have done wrong. You are following your passions, as I am. I am trying to keep my feed manageable, and as I said elsewhere I still run out of votes to quick before getting to the many posts in my feed as well as responses to my own posts.

Perfect and no problem. You will find that my personal blogging will increase now once I don't need to worry that I am alienating those who are following me for the contest. My fear has been for sometime that I will overwhelm those who support the contest with my personal posts.

There are a number of steemit related topics that I want to cover, more featuring of projects that are happening around steemit, and plenty of more personal opinion type posts. This is what you can expect to be coming from me after my weeks posts aren't built around the contest.

But either way no problem on this. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't part of the list of ones that got deleted for no reason.

This is what you can expect to be coming from me after my weeks posts aren't built around the contest.

Awesome. Looking forward to seeing more posts on your thoughts and on who you are (the things that matter, your opinions etc).

There are only a hand full of people who can give larger votes at the current price of Steem. as it goes up so will the voting power vaule. Currently I give mostly 0.01 votes. dustsweeper can round it out or get it above the dust.
I am in no position to make judgment calls on content but more to the people who are long term thinkers so that is where my vote goes. My small vote will not make that much of a difference on their reward of larger fish but makes a big difference to the redfish and minnows

We all have to find what works for each and every one of us. It is a tricky thing to do with many ins and outs. I am still everyday trying different things in order to accomplish this. Maybe well will figure it out. I am looking forward to reading your guide when it is completed. It is a noble task and one that needs to be done. Best of luck to you in this endeavor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68