You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM Isn't A JOB It's A Business

in #steem6 years ago

@papa-pepper amazes me. He's like #7 reputation wise. Very fun posts.

I just ran across you and look forward to reading more of your posts...

  • I'm still trying to figure this all out.
    • What is the difference of self voting and circle jerk voting with others?
      Isn't it the same thing, just different?
      • My other question is at what point can you make a living at this? I know I've read a few people who are... I've invested nothing but time and effort and am up to 120SP. 6 years and 1 week to retirement. Do you think I can build a lil nest egg here to supplement my other retirement plans?
        (It doesn't matter what you say, I'm still going to keep plugging and chugging away in hopes that Steem balloons when the SMTs come around...)
Sort:  

Yeah @papa-pepper is pretty amazing and things worked out well for him and his family and he keeps plugging away everyday.

Well there are two forms of circle jerking. There are the people who have a blog that revolves around talking about how amazing Steemit is. Then there are the circle jerkers who are in a tight alliance of 3 or 4 people who and they just vote for each other and hardly ever vote for anyone else.

And yes a person could power up a lot of STEEM and just essentially say Hi to themselves everyday and upvote it and you could say it could have a similar effect.

I would like to think we could entertain and inform each other on here at least a little bit while we earn money.

I would say if a person times things right and powers up $100,000 worth. I know that might sound insane but a person that has been in crypto long enough often observes that these alternative coins can potentially lose 90 to 95% of their value in a very bad crash. STEEM lost 98% of its value after it spiked to $4 in 2016 and fell clear to $0.07. I gave it a low chance to come back because things were so bad here but then it came back to life. Since it has proven itself to come back a couple of times now it becomes safer.

The calculations have been done before but basically my opinion is that if you power up $100,000 worth and primarily hog your vote or get in a tight agreement with a couple of others with that amount of power you could potentially double your money in a year if the price stayed the same. I know that sounds insane but you could crank 6-10 posts / day and you would get there. If the price went up as well the it could really play out nicely. But there is always the possibility the price gets crushed.

I certainly think that even if you aren't going to bring in money from outside that it is worth being on here and trying to earn as much as possible and try to bank on a large increase in price the next time crypto goes to the Moon.

Wow, what a roller coaster you've seen. I can see why a lot of people bailed. 98% crash. I can't imagine. I know this little blip has been frustrating as I try to get to a 3 cent non-dust vote! haha

It's A Business

  • That's why I read your post. That's what I've seen since day one.
    But I also realized...

I would like to think we could entertain and inform each other on here at least a little bit while we earn money.

That's why I hitched my pony to this wagon.

All was going well. My SP was climbing at a decent rate and I was curating everything and everyone I liked.

  • But then came @TimCliff's post revealing to many including me that <0.02 and it's all dust. And the next experimenting by @thedarkhorse revealing that you may actually need a 3 cent vote to keep it from being wasted. Oh wow. I had wasted a LOT of votes.
    • So I had to step back and start treating this more like a business and less like a social club. The social club people are great and I really did enjoy them, but they seem to be totally against treating this like a business. Self vote boo! upvote services hiss! ... ::rolling eyes::
      What I saw is I needed to spend time treating this like a business, so I can get my vote up to 3 cents or all that curating (well, maybe not all, but a LOT of it) is wasted effort.
      • So lately I've been looking for people who realize this is a business and not just a social club. I look forward to spending some time looking through your blog to find a few nuggets that will help me down the path that will lead the quickest to having a worthwhile business that we can have some fun entertaining and informing while being entertained and informed.

Anyway, thanks for the feedback @brianphobos!

Your balance is below $0.1. This is your 2nd notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67695.76
ETH 3822.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65