You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you think you own your content on steem – Sorry to tell you…..

in #steem5 years ago

Yeah, that needs to change... I have been nervous about this for a long time which is why I have never posted my full blog posts on here. I always make what I call companion posts that are unique to Steem that link back to my main blog posts. I do this for another community site in my niche. This takes more time but has kept my content safe--the only place you can find my full blog posts are on my own site.

I had read that some people post their content to their site first, wait a week or so for google to index it and then post on other sites like steem. The thought is that this way google knows where it showed up first so even if 2 sites are claiming ownership google knows which was first. Does this work?

Sort:  

with steempress you can delay your post to steem, however indexing first on your own website and then steemit claiming ownership will confuse google and so both site will be punished (from what i have been told by an seo expert)

Good to know! I hope steemit fixes this... I know sites like Medium are careful to not claim ownership of people's content when it's imported in from a blog. I would hope steemit would do the samething...

Medium has an import tool and when that is used it tells medium not to claim ownership of the content. Here is Medium's page talking about it: https://help.medium.com/hc/en-us/articles/217991468-About-SEO-and-duplicate-content

" This means that Medium can only boost — not cannibalize — your SEO."

^^^^^^^ this is what steemit should be doing

Posted using Partiko Android

Isn’t that what happens when you publish via Steempress? Doesn’t it set the canonical link as you wp blog?

I'm don't think Steempress would be able to change the canonical link on steemit unless steemit let them. Perhaps @paulag can answer your question but I don't think it works that way at the moment. One question is not just steemit but all the other d.apps... I wonder how they are all handling this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12