Riding Out The Storm, Strange Thoughts on Power Shifts.

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

ship-2275399_1280.jpg
*image from Pixabay

Whenever there is a shift in rules there will be a shift of power and usually people who have had power don't like the natural process of power shifts. Many times they will struggle and lash out to retain the feeling of power. For instance in the old system @haejin was unstoppable due to the limited number of people willing to downvote and accept the retaliation.

Whenever there is a shift in power it impacts others. For Instance if a new President is elected most of the former President's staff is let go. It is not a reflection of the performance of the old staff it is just a changing of the guard.

So a lot of people are motivated to keep the current power structure in place. People who feel they will gain from the shift in power jump on board to knock down the old power.

Obviously, HardFork21/22 changed the system and there are all sorts of big and small power shifts happening. What worked before might not work in the new economy or maybe it will suddenly work better.

Personally, I don't mind the shifts, it is good to not allow any one set of people to hold the power for too long and become too comfortable. I am currently getting downvoted by several big users. Haejin, Ranchorelaxo and Bernie. That's a pretty good group to have downvoting. While they are large votes, I have to say, I'm a bit proud.

Since the goal was to normalize downvotes I shouldn't be talking about it at all, but it seems many are concerned about the current situation and I just want to say, this is just the shifting of power, it is a good thing.

In addition, I think this is just another phase we have to get through while we wait for the altcoin depression to pass. Maybe at some point we can quit focusing on internal politics and focus on reducing the barriers to entry.

I thought about not posting, and my reasons for posting are not as noble as "Taking one for the team".
I do acknowledge though it is just as good of a reason as any other reason.

I'll just keep on posting...

@whatsup

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The internal politics don't interest me at all. In fact, I barely notice them.

Politics aside, who do you think wins in this latest HF?

Posted using Partiko Android

To a considerable extent content creators whose creations have some value. The losers tend to be the shitposters who used to buy votes to an excessive degree. Very large stake can protect some groups like that but they are being tackled as we speak. It's looking good. Beginners without networks in place are making a bit less. But the whole point of this place is to build a network and win over supporters with good content. It's a long process. One can always go back to posting without any compensation on mainstream platforms.

In this phase I don't know that anyone is winning.

There is an Altcoin depression and we have a small community. In my opinion most of what is happening right now is a misdirected set of frustration.

I just think it is good for the power to be toppled once in a while. :)

Well I'm buying Steem so I may be winning... Or I may be throwing my money down the drain 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, I can totally relate to that. I bought some a couple of weeks ago and powered it. Last week it seemed like a good idea, this week I am not so sure... Next week. . . Who knows. :)

They don't call it high risk investments for nothing!

Why do you think the power is shifting?
Those guys are not powering down.

Maybe you make a good point. The very core power might not be shifting.

Just a new front. The new "Curators" have had some success in shutting down the bots and haejin for now... We shall see if it lasts.

It won't.
SP = influence and rewards.
People will figure out how to get them. One way or another. The big guys and small ones. Proportional to their SP. That's the design or code if you will. Not saying it's right tho, but that's the name of the game. We like it or not.
I'm still of the opinion that downvoting is not a solution. It reminds me of how the US is spreading democracy all over the world. Do you see any success or progress?

Interesting perspective and I need to consider it. I don't think this current movement will last, so you may very well be right.

Personally I don't see anything internal making a large change. I've been consistent in the message that I think the "solution" is marketing and onboarding vs. playing with our own politics.

Maybe if there is an altcoin season, and I think there will be... This will all just be a phase.

Those who happily advocated and still support cheerful 2.5 free flags & downvotes daily, even when in their minds they envisioned that these SJW acts would work for the 'better' of the collective.

Much they also should have envisioned and know beforehand how these 'weapons' works in first place. };)

geckos.jpg

Yes, I agree.

I didn't notice you were getting downvotes, as I'm usually reading posts through https://busy.org . I'm glad you brought it up in a post.

I think one's steem life has gone full circle when Bernie thinks I'm a circle jerker... ;)

@whatsup,
Let's see what will change in HF22! First I was against this HF21 downvotes, but now I feel this is better and this should come a year ago! If then, STEEM price will not drop that much!
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @whatsup!
@whatsup got 6.51612600 TRDO & @theguruasia got 4.34408400 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Whenever there is a shift in rules there will be a shift of power and usually people who have had power don't like the natural process of power shifts.

...this would only apply if the power shift takes the power away from the powerful.
Those who have power and gain more from the shift, will be more than happy for the change...
Just sayin'

In addition, I think this is just another phase we have to get through while we wait for the altcoin depression to pass.

Mmmmm....What if it's a correction to fair value, and not a depression?

Maybe at some point we can quit focusing on internal politics and focus on reducing the barriers to entry.

Internal politics with a DPOS system is endemic,and will never stop.

Think of the royal courts of the 17th century - and you can see the Steem structure as almost a carbon copy of it - and back then, in those royal houses - the political shenanigans never stopped.... So why would it, here?)

Good post.

I'm pretty sure altcoins will see a new round of interest.

I know you are salty, but compared to many other alts, we at least have a development team, some users and some reason to be optimistic.

It's messy but it is what it is..

Waits for a lecture on what will and will not work in the world and how all things immoral will fail...

I would say all things fail. What goes up goes down and there are cycles.

Loading...

Hi, @whatsup!

You just got a 0.3% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66