You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Upcycling STEEM #1 : 70 delegations of 70 SP for 7 weeks available - let's solve the Resource Credit problem

in #steem5 years ago

Very nice! I'm so unclear about our future direction... I don't know what to make of new signups and lack of RCs for our new users.

I appreciate what you are doing though, in fact I appreciate many things you are doing!

Sort:  

I commend the sentiment, I really do- but this is not gonna be fixed by people having to 'step up'.

This is a massive problem (if it is ever to be adopted as a large social platform).

If it's not a social platform, it's just another crypto....(imo)

The 'sell' that allowed steemit to grow as it did initially, now seems to have been taken off the table...

Why does it have to become a LARGE social platform right now?
If Steem is to be a social platform, then better be social first, or else it will be just another crypto traded by bots.

This is a perfect time to prove Steem is social by proof-of-human.

This is a perfect time to prove Steem is social by proof-of-human.

humans are not coming...ergo, its less social that it would be if it was larger..

Humans will come, if humans will invite them.
Why does it have to be larger to be social?
I find it less social on Fakebook with billions of members.

Humans will come, if humans will invite them.

Based on what? - The massive reduction in active users over the last 12 months?

Based on the fact they will come - and then find out that they can only post once and make a couple of comments each day - and they they can't do anything?

Why does it have to be larger to be social?

...to increase demand for the product, and thus steem price.
It has to grow to be successful as a platform

Comment on the second part.

...to increase demand for the product, and thus steem price.
It has to grow to be successful as a platform

Only an investor would call social interactions a product and focus on its price. Only an investor measures success by endless unsustainable growth.

I have no problem with investors or their focus on money, i don't even mind someone making money from my social interactions, its their choice/belief in life.

However, if everyone on this platform has to have the mindset of an investor and only focus on price, then there is no social "product" left.

Fakebook is "successful" cos users who generate content are not motivated by money but by social value.

Anyway, here are two photos from todays food waste pickup up, a whole pallet of eggs:

20190102_14a.jpg

20190102_24a.jpg

Only an investor would call social interactions a product and focus on its price.

I'm not an' investor', all my money in steemit has been made here.
( 350 ish now and I have withdrawn a fair amount to pay the rent - when steem was at $4)

Price and value are not the same thing, like rescuing perfectly good eggs - it has value - its not the price of them.

'The product' is the steem price, not the social interaction.
The price is partly derived from the quantity of social interaction. (the demand to be in steemit)

Well done on the egg haul, matey!

I hate waste, especially with foods.
When society throws away good food, it has reached a terminal state of decadence, imo..

What are you gonna do with so many eggs, btw?- You can't live on omelettes for the next 2 months!
lol

(I have done my share of dumpster diving, when I was penniless and traveling..)

I just ge the feeling that more and more users here on Steem are using a language that puts more focus on money.

I think that if we just let go of the constant focus on money, we could actually make Steem a better social platform.

The food waste we rescue is eaten by our foodsavers all their friends and famlies, and the rest is shared via public fridges in our city.

I a way, we bring dumpster diving to the masses.

https://steemit.com/food/@solikyl/what-is-solikyl-solidarity-fridge

I want to update my statement:
Humans will come and stay, if humans invite them.

If this is to be a social platform, there has to be more human interaction not less.
Looking back at the short history of Steem, i saw people come for the tokens, set up voting and comment bots and left to be social on Fakebook.

Does not have to be a bad thing, if you only can post once a day as a new user, many forums have such restrictions to avoid spam and build sustainable communities.

If other real users on Steem want new users to be more active they will delegate SP and create even more social value.

I will comment on the second part later, have to run to rescue more food waste. Peace.

I was wondering whether it would become possible to delegate Resource Credits separately from delegating SP. I have lots of redundant RCs that could be used to facilitate the involvement of others and that will be true of many other people, too.

Hi Shani, Resource Credit delegation would be a far better solution.

That needs blockchain level development, and I suspect a HardFork.

Alas that sort of work is not now going to come from Steemit Inc. This would likely be up to the community to fund an appropriate developer or two to do the necessary coding and then get a majority of top 20 witnesses to push it through.

Employing development capacity @blocktrades might be an answer, but I am not sure where sufficient funding would come from for that.

That might be a somewhat crude analysis of the process but I believe it is there or thereabouts.

Top 20 witnesses where art thou...?

Too true 😐😐😐

I totally agree with your comment.

I really would rather not be doing this. But until some more 'wholesome' solution is found, this may just keep a few more people onboard.

Sadly I believe the current new joiner numbers are low enough that this sort of initiative will be enough.

Why the numbers are so low is a whole other story...

Right...I agree. It isn't ideal, but it certainly isn't ideal for people to sit back and say "we can't be part of the solution"

We have seen it help many people who are incredibly grateful and DO stay because they have a community that helps them.

Individuals can't help everyone, but a lot of individuals can do a lot more!

Thank you for doing this @pennsif! What you're doing absolutely MATTERS! 😊

happy new year!

Thank you @whatsup.

The current 'onboarding' situation is far from ideal but I hope this helps a little.

I would argue, initiatives like this help alot to onboard real users.
We dont need more bots on Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30