What I Think Is Going To Happen With The Steem Price Post HardforksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Moon.

Sorry I had to make that joke, I had the thought of leaving the post as that one word :p. Right now the price is down about 8.5%. This might be because of the price of bitcoin, or someone wanted to buy a horse or any other random reason. But I think, if the price does go down, it is because whales will be selling for a little while. A lot of us have seen an increase in voting power and it had to come from somewhere. This means that large accounts are voting with less than they did before. They are still voting more than the rest of us, but as you can tell by your increase, it has to be significantly lower. This might cause some whales to dump. More power to them, they invested in this platform and are seeing profit now. At first I thought this would lead to a big sell but as they still have more voting power for the more they hold, I am thinking it will not be a big dump.

Once that is done I think the price will start to go up, possibly like crazy. I am going to predict, and you can quote me on this (only if I'm right :p) steem hits the $5 mark by the end of July or August. Forget the end of the year, I am saying months. This hardfork will increase people's interest in holding steem power and excite new users who will spread the word.

Don't invest on this advice, do your own research and what you think is right. For me, if the coin does go close a dollar from possible dumping, I have some coins, ones that I am not really feeling, that I will sell and buy some steem. Because unless something drastic happens, I do not know if we will see that price again.

What effect do you think the fork will have?

@whatageek

*my upvotes/rep disclaimer: https://steemit.com/steemit/@whatageek/my-steemit-account-where-i-stand-on-bots-self-votes-and-multiple-account

Sort:  

This is very important info! Thank you for sharing. I think potentially there is a lot of money in buying steem right now. The amount to be earned is only capped by how much on is capable of investing right now.

To me, it doesn't matter what happens short term after this fork. Long term I think it's good for Steem. The rewards are distributed nor evenly and I feel like a whale with my votes now. More Steemers will power up. New users won't feel so neglected. And outsiders will see what's going on and not be able to resist joining in. Can't wait for the next round of new features too!

tenor.gif

Wow, wouldn't that be wooonderful!!!

funny I was just looking at the prices, it is below 80000 satoshis. I was gonna sell my bitcoin, now I am contemplating to get some steems instead. I agree with you prices will go up after a temporary dip.

I think sbd and steem will be down over the next week as minnows and dolphins take a little off the table with this short lived windfall from HF19. Some whales may dump some but I don't think it will be significant, they will be sheered a little, but they still rule the roost.

Steem & SBD will then climb dramatically. People will hear about the potential payouts on rewards and steemit will grow like a weed.

You will see fewer upvotes by minnows because they will have far less voting options. Minnows will burn thru their voting power in 15-20 upvotes and be done for the day. Increasing minnow vote power needed to be paired with a sliding scale for smaller accounts. All of their votes are 100%.

I think it may be the death of auto-curate because it will eat up to much voter discretion.

I think people are turning off bots already because the new system is much less rewarding. I think that will really help the platform in the long run, as rapid posting junk for guaranteed votes won't be as lucrative.

I think that whales cashing out on some of their steem is a good thing. Once people start using steem as a currency instead of a savings account, it will gain more legitimacy in the eyes of the general investing public. The dip will give those of us who are interested in buying in more deeply a chance to do so before steem potentially spikes due to the growth and improved retention that will result from giving new Steemians more power.

They are on a shaky spaceship right now.

Hmmm, always hard to say – I do think in the long term it will go up, but not sure about the timeframe. Most of my steem is locked up in steem power (I have a little in exchanges at the moment), and I'm planning to hold for awhile, so no matter when it goes up, I'll do well anyway!

That would be super awesome if it hit $5 soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74