You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Be Careful, Steem!

in #steem7 years ago

Well written @surfermarly, touching on a lot of the thoughts I've had myself since joining this network about two months ago. I've wanted to post something like this myself but don't really think my 150 followers care and I don't want to risk anything before established. I joined with the notion that it was a fair distributing reward system, but it's far from. As a newcomer to steem you have 10 upvotes at $0.01 and unless you can get the attention of a whale or something there is now so many accounts that you have to be more than lucky to get anywhere, even if your content is really good.
Upon learning how it really is on steemit I'm a little delusioned about the future on the platform, but for now I keep on trucking forward, hoping some kind of change will happen that will diminish the division somehow.

Sort:  

Thank you @wanderingdanish!
I can totally relate. A couple of months ago I set up a new account just to see how it feels being new again. I published content that was pretty much touching the same topics as in my @surfermarly account. While I earned a lot in my established account, I didn't receive any type of attention in the new one. The quality of the content is irrelevant if you don't have an established network.

I hope this article helps to underline the importance of curation and also the need of a redistribution of influence.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts :-)

I would change

The quality of the content is irrelevant if you don't have an established network.

to

The quality of the content is less relevant if you have an established network.


People without a network can still get big upvotes through good content.
People without good content can still get big upvotes through their network.


There are always two sides you can look at:

Did you your second account not receive upvotes due to the lack of having a network or due to a lack of quality?
Does your main account receive big upvotes due to you having a network or due to you posting high quality stuff?

One can ask these questions, but how do you want to answer them? What about "who decides, what good content is"? The community of corse. When people upvote shit, even this has to be okay. But we need to find a way that building networks where our content fits in, becomes easier. With everybody using five tags and usually the more popular ones, we create a content jungle where neither creating nor curating is much fun anymore with more and more users on Steemit. I think the Interface itself creates many issues. With "Trending" and "Hot" you have two big categories for whales and dolphins mainly. But the majority of people has to struggle in "New". How should I feel that my content has some kind of value with nearly no views on it, because it is far away from being visible for the seven days people could upvote it?

I didn't post those questions in order to get answers. I posted those to show different perspectives.

And I am fully with you when it comes down to complaining about the Steemit Frontend. Personally I just don't visit "Trending" and "Hot" a lot anymore. Maybe once in two days for a quick look.

But that's a problem of a bad interface, not a problem of inequality in in distribution of power.

The interface leads to more inequality in distribution of power. Can be a coincidence that it empowers powerful people even more. Improving it could mean enhancing the oppurtunities of many users.

100% agree here ;) Even though I can't think of a far better solution! And it's the same problem with trending on YT as well, isn't it?

It's okay, Trending and Hot exist. I really wish, I could sort content out. Kind like this:

Show me all posts including the tags "A","B","C" and excluding the tags "X","Y","Z". Show me only posts, that are not older than 7 days. Sort by: increasing/decreasing: actuality/user reputation/upvotes/views/replies.

Yes, that would be great!

I know it's not ideal - but can't you do a lot of that via plugins or on busy.org?! Not sure, but I think you can do at least better search there.

I'm sure you can give all the answers to all of your questions by yourself, I'm off surfing now! Happy weekend :-)

I just wanted to show perspectives ;) Have fun surfing, stay safe!

Auch hier - Durchatmen!

Ich hab leider ne krass ausgebildete Allergie gegen Oberlehrer...

Ja mei aber ganz ehrlich, ihr alle denkt natürlich ihr habt die Weisheit mit Löffeln gefressen und jeder hat Recht - Du bist auch nicht besser. Oberlehrer meets Oberlehrer. Deswegen diskutiere ich auch nicht mehr über Sachen, die ich nicht ändern kann. Sich gegenseitig mit Klugscheissen voll zu werfen bringt auch nix, ihr regt euch nur alle auf.

Am Schluss hab eh ich immer Recht!

Dieser Thread hat gezeigt, dass es zum Glück noch sehr viele Leute gibt, die gerne Ideen darüber austauschen, wie man gewisse Dinge verbessern kann. Ich bin froh, dass der Artikel schon mehr als 800 Mal geöffnet wurde, das zeigt wie groß das Interesse an solchen Themen ist. Dass manche dies als Plattform nutzen um sich selbst darzustellen, ist das Problem dieser Leute, nicht meins :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33