You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Share Your Opinion: Reaching A Consensus on Subsidizing Activities for Newcomers

in #steem6 years ago

Steemit is very fortunate because much like a grass roots movement who's growth and success is made possible by passionate supporters, they have truly passionate users. I would say this is very rare in this type of industry. I hope they don't take it for granted.

They need to do better when it comes to making the platform accessible and engaging to new comers if they want growth. They must see this. They must have countless reports and statistics on their desks showing the staggering amount of churn that goes on. I just don't know why it has not been a core focus to date or if it is why it's been such a slow moving action item.

I would love for steemit-inc to open up a bit more on this front so we know their intentions.

Hmmm ... I got off topic a bit. I would subsidize if I thought it would make a difference but would it? The number of new accounts, dead weight accounts, and how to manage that seems like a big job. From a business perspective, it should be a core part of the platform and successful business case right?

Sort:  

you are certainly right @walkerland. I think, in a way, Stinc does not care about this (the things you bring up in the first two paragraphs). if you look at this post by taskmaster -- here - it goes into the purpose/focus/ intent of Stinc. Tho i nowhere near agree with his points, it is an interesting thought that Stinc is phasing out of even being involved in the daily user experience on Steem blockchain and leaving that up to the DApps that are coming here. I have yet to be satisfied with the communication from Stinc and, like you, I think they could and should do better. As you say, they have a really awesome even rare thing going!

It's strange to me as well that they don't realize that -- or care... I can only imagine the things which led them to not focus on the passionate user base that is already here and instead focus only on the future SMTs and things of this nature which are their dreams for the platform .I am much more a quality of life while you're in it type of person rather than always hoping for the next big thing to solve it (which seems like they keep doing.)

I agree with you: from a business perspective it should be a core concern. Yet in this case, it seems they were targeting Spam accounts by limiting the RC activities for those with low SP and they didn't realize that it would have such a large impact on the daily user base! ... sigh-- they're certainly out of touch or just don't care... both are not good. Thanks for sharing your opinion!

I worked in the very competitive IT industry for a long time, I do know how it works, I have seen the big games played and have played a role in in and have held a personal stake in the success of many projects. My gut instinct is they are playing this wrong and losing sight of where the core strengths in this whole concept lie (the people and supporters). They are making a massive mistake if this is true.

If I had some money I would build a team and make a strong foundation and a platform much like this one (with some core improvements) that we could all feel part of, secure in and one that would truly care about the greater good. I can see it - and taste it. I believe in us - the people that drive this and feel conifdent that something good will shake out.

This recent update, the poor communication and slow reaction - investors and anyone with a real stake in this platform (or potential stake) will find that highly worrisome. It is not good practice by any measure. In our company it would have been an absolute disaster that would honestly have never occurred. Unprofessional X 1000. It surely worries me that they don't see the optics side of things and how much that matters. (Even if they don't care about the human/passion side).

oh gosh. I guess I had more of an opinion on this than I though. Oops. I really unloaded. xoxo

thank you so much for sharing! i find it really valuable to hear you're opinion! thanks <3

beautiful vision @walkerland! i would be there with you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69662.55
ETH 3388.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77