You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm on my grind!

in #steem5 years ago

Many things have changed in just the past few months. The hardfork reward restructuring really mixed things up, partly for the good and partly for the bad.

I must say that incentivizing more curation can be good but not at the expense of small authors. They should have done it so the little guys get more of their reward and the bigger posts are the ones where curation is given more weight.

One day Steem will be back in the spotlight, until then we have to keep chugging along and building those small connections in between. Don't forget how important it is to go out and actually network with people by dropping comments, curating and sharing content. Without this we are all just shouting into the void.

Sort:  

I try to max out my curation, and comment all over the place, but you're right about resteeming. I should (selectively) look for the occasional high-quality post to resteem. I did that with my other accounts/projects more, but since I'm phasing them out, I'll increase how often I do it on DRutter.
I think the good and bad effects of the last HF are still settling out. It wasn't all roses as some people promised... some still won't admit it's not perfect. A lot of people lost a lot of money, you and I included, so we can understand how there are emotions and other factors getting involved.
Like you said, hang in there. Thanks for the vote!

As much as I think doing stuff for the ecosystem is good, I don't necessarily think you ought to re-steem on an account where you also produce a lot of your own content. It sort of dilutes your brand.

For example, while it would have tickled me personally to have you resteem one of MY posts, I don't think your other followers would have appreciated it. They come to your feed for YOU... and you do YOU very well.

Does that make any sense?

Yeah, I hear that. When I follow somebody and next thing I see is a bunch of off-topic resteems, I unfollow them. It's true, many of us (like myself) don't want cluttered feeds with a lot of stuff that doesn't interest us. When I resteem I try and keep it somewhat on topic, so my followers aren't blindsided by something totally foreign very often, if at all. Yet I also see the need to promote important ideas and information, and I have a small platform to be able to do so. If nobody resteemed anything.... that would be a loss. Selective resteeming seems to be key. Maybe ultra-selective! :)

Good point... selective re-steeming then. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45