You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Steem needs to do to make me (actively) witness again

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

I'd hope you'd add to this list limiting duration of witness votes. There are over 1 million Steem accounts and a few thousand of them are active presently. All witness votes from abandoned accounts will continue to support the witnesses they were cast for prior to those accounts being abandoned forever.

Thanks!

Sort:  

This has been discussed a couple of times before, but the conclusion each time has been that expiring votes a) pose a security risk. I.e. whales go on a vacation, forget to vote every X days etc; and more importantly, b) stakeholders should have the right to vote however they want. Various solutions have been discussed, if there's a good one proposed, I'd support it. But it's not top of my list right now. I have to say that DPoS is trash, but unfortunately, replacing that is a really tall order. So, I'm being more reasonable here and just asking for more pressing changes.

PS: You can follow the discussion here: https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/953

You are indeed far more reasonable in your demands than am I.

However, the claim that expiring votes is a security risk seems facile, and the fact that content is not evergreen seems to establish that such control of votes is not difficult to effect. I don't doubt that it has been put forward, but doubt less it could be trivially done.

Regardless, you didn't do it, aren't responsible for it, and certainly have a better grasp of the issue than I.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85