You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feedback Wanted: 4 Week Power Down

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

"It happens anyway, but there's a bunch of people that'll post here up until the blockchain flatlines."

I don't think either of those metrics is appreciably affected by the contemplated difference in powerdown time.

"My guess is that there's more problems seeing the utility of Steem and getting in and out is a tiny side show."

Again, the difference in powerdown time makes little difference. That there is a lockin at all probably is far more relevant.

A while back I made an error that enabled a hacker to swipe all my liquid. Had there been no lockin I certainly would have lost all my SP as well. This was revelatory to me, and has moderated my opinion, which was previously completely opposed to the lockin. I see it more as a security measure now LOL. This brings me to the fee for faster powerdowns. It seems to me the security aspect of the powerdown time is obviated by that potential, as hackers would certainly be willing to burn as necessary to make a quick cash grab. Therefore I do oppose that.

Beyond that, I reckon your judgment far superior to mine in this regard. I have far too often demonstrated my ignorance disagreeing with you =p

Thanks!

Sort:  

All of this. The answer is to change nothing about how this works now, because it is a security mechanism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58188.83
ETH 2585.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40