Working Towards Your Steem Goals - Manhandling Depression (Steempression)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Dealing with depression.jpg

I wrote about the emotions that you will encounter in your ways towards your Steem goals or goals in general 2 days ago which you can read HERE.

However, @luming wrote that I forgot one of the most dangerous feelings which is depression. Since I had depression for 13 years I know how it feels like and I need to address that feeling with today's post.

Wanting to reach your Steem goals is a long and frustrating journey even when you get money for your posts. It will be super frustrating when you start with 0 investment because you will get basically 0 attention when you start.

This post is not written to address depression in general but depression resulting from the combined feelings of frustration, boredom, and uncertainty that you get here from Steem when you put all your time and hope into this Cryptocurrency. But you are now here to deal with these problems like a real killer.

Seperator.png

How to Prevent "Steem Depression"

1. Don't post all your stuff here on Steem only. You can prevent Steem depression by sharing the content of your posts on other websites as well. I, for example, share the video content of my Steem blog on Youtube (I will later copy & paste my entire Steem blog on my own domain).

Like that you don't have to worry about Steemit going offline because all your content will be saved and you will have your audience on the other websites as well.

2. Dealing with uncertainty. You don't need to be uncertain because first of all, you don't need to worry about Steem going down because you are sharing your content on other websites as well.

Secondly, you don't need to be uncertain when you have made a decision to reach your goal. If you put all your effort into Steem till you reach your goal then you will reach your goal with 100 certainty. It is that simple.

3. Frustration is just a part of Steem, the currency itself goes up and down and you can do nothing about it. See where I am pointing at? You have to accept it when you can not change it. It is like taxes, you hate them but you can't change it so it is better for you to accept it.

Many things here on Steem are out of your control. The amount of value you receive from upvotes, how often your content is resteemed and so on. You do better accepting the things here on Steem that you can't change.

4. And last but not least boredom. Boredom stems from doing the same thing over and over again. This is why I fucking laugh about the quote by Steve Jobs "Do what you love". Do you think I fucking love Steem after doing the same shit every day for 60 days?

No, I fucking don't. Every real master would laugh and spit on such stupid advice. Every real master knows that you start to make progress when you get bored. Everyone's threshold for boredom is different but it means that you have reached your "fun-limit". Pushing past that feeling of boredom created many masters in the history of humanity.

5. Network with other people on Discord to create work together and to have fun. This will help you to deal with the boredom of posting every damn day and it is a great way to network.

Seperator.png

Preventing Steempression in a Nutshell:

  1. Don't post your stuff on Steem only
  2. You will reach your goal as long as you work towards the finish line.
  3. Accept the downsides of Steem, you can't change them
  4. Overcoming boredom is an integral part of mastering something & yourself.
  5. Network with others to have fun & work together

Seperator.png
 
Get More Upvotes & Followers: Steemfollower

My Previous Post: Road to 100000 Steem Power Day 38

My Website: Youtube Channel

Seperator.png

Dealing with depression stats.jpg

Sort:  

I think everyone at some point can relate to what you're saying. That's exactly why I try to live with purpose and do things with purpose. It has to be bigger than just the money or else we'll get burned out and disappointed. Trust me I learned that the hard way.

Find your purpose, find your flow.
https://www.treehugger.com/culture/ikigai-japanese-art-finding-ones-purpose-life.html

My purpose is to live a free life, create a small community of free people and live in harmony with the 9 noble virtues.

Glad to see you Earl!

The acceptance of what we can not change is undoubtedly the best advice to overcome depression. When we do not accept something, we spend our lives with hatred and this becomes our being darkness. I love the tip of taking advantage of the discord to overcome boredom. Very good post and thanks for sharing these valuable tips :)
Greetings!!

Thank you Luming. Your comment game is on point.

Acceptance is the hardest thing for a rebel. But some things you can not change and they are what they are.

Look what music I found, maybe you like it?

I do not listen to this genre of music, I like Nordic music of the Vikings. They make me feel in battle!

I like that too!

Steempression is real! Many already quit because they thought earning tons of money on Steem is easy!

Yes, I had my steemit anniversary recently and there was a statistics post with it that said:

SteemIt Celebration (3/11/2017)

On this day 1 year ago, 164 joined but only these 6 SteemIt users are still active

That's a pretty atrocious retention rate. Steemit is definitely an amazing place, but networking and good friends (or acquaintances) is what makes it really special.

People that are amazed by Steem at first because of the money involved. After they learn that this ain't an easy way to earn a lot of money they leave again.

Congratulations & agree, without other people Steemit would not be Steemit.

I so much liked the idea of developing your skill due to boredom, Steve is not stupid, he just said it to make more people less successful

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

I like your first and fourth opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49