How is Voting Power determined in STEEM?

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

How does someone increase their Voting Power?

  1. Why does someone with far less STEEM have more voting power than someone with much more STEEM?
  2. What determines "Voting Power"?
  3. How does someone increase their Voting Power if not by owning more STEEM?
Sort:  

Voting power is based upon how much Steem Power (aka vesting STEEM) an account holds as well as how much voting an account has done recently. The Steem network attempts to approximate your average voting rate such that your voting power on any given post is approximately:

    SteemPower / VotesPerDay

Because Steem doesn't know how many votes you will cast in the near future, the VotesPerDay calculation is a moving average. This means each consecutive vote you make will increase your average VotesPerDay. If you go 24 hrs without voting then VotesPerDay will get reset to its minimum value: 20.

You can increase your voting power by posting and voting. 50% of all content and curation rewards are paid out as SteemPower.

The amount of benefit a vote confers on the authors of a post depends upon how many votes are already cast. This is because payout is determined by the following calculation:

 NewPayout = (OldVotes + NewVotes)^2

This means that small votes have a much greater absolute benefit when added to a post with a lot of votes, and almost no apparent benefit when added to a post with no votes.

InitialPayout     1 = (0+1)^2
AfterSecondVote   4 = (1+1)^2

The outside observer would think that the second voter counted for "3" even though both voters were of the same weight. The reality is that if a 3rd down vote was cast by an another voter of equal weight the Payout would fall to 1. A fourth voter downvoting would return the payout to 0.

I have two Steem accounts, one I created here at Steemit.com and the other I created for mining following the instructions in @joseph's Mining Steem For Dummies Guide. My question: Can I link the two accounts so that my SteemPower is greater when voting on posts?

Not currently.

Thank you for posting. QUESTION: should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem? Be sure to tell everyone you know to come vote here at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kingtylervvs/if-steemit-ever-does-decide-to-advertise-there-is-only-1-way-it-could-work-in-my-opinion-debate

This is a democratic community decision.


Upvote the #steemengine for in house steemit poster ads!

Thank you man for this info!

Wow, thanks for the explanation.

Good explication!

thanks for this response

Thank you very much! :)
This clarified very much for me.

I hope you have a great day when u read this! :)

Great reply! Thank you. I can keep upvoting what I like.

thanks for this... i was wondering my my voting power keeps going down all the time..!!!!!!

can you tel me where do you check your current voting power

if you still are wondering -> https://steemnow.com/

Where exactly there does it state my current voting power? So many numbers :D

Skjermbilde.JPG
other good-to-know-about sites:
Steemd
posting limit
(and check out my page @flatman)

Thanks for the link @flatman.

I'm a new steem user, so sorry for the dumb question, but does it cost you anything to vote? Are you "using" up steempower when voting?

Thank you for the question @florio.

@tuck-fheman, you should edit your post so that the summary (first line) is clearer. It currently displays "1." which isn't very useful. I will probably update steemit to ignore summaries that are too short because this is a recurring problem.

@tuck-fheman @dantheman Please be aware that updating a post will reset its upvotes.

Yeah I believe I checked before editing and no one, or maybe one, had voted so I got it in before all of the votes. At least I hope I did. ;)

Originally I left the summary blank since it said "optional". I guess because I used the numbered list in the post it just grabbed the 1 and left off the rest of the line? I edited to add a summary.

@dantheman, are you a steem developer?

I put this article together before finding yours, adds to others explanations...

https://steemit.com/steem/@xerxes612/you-voting-weight-is-too-small

Would it be wise to send BTC to increase STEEM POWER ?

any coin will do, eth is ok too.

Thank your for the question @poias. Do you know how?I want to know to how to do it.

I stumbled accross this post of yours which is quite old.
It seems like your reputation and follower base has grown ever since. Great Job.

I only joined like 4 days ago.
What suggestions could you make for me to move up the ranks?

FOLOWED

Thanks a lot for this post @tuck-fheman. Very useful information for a newbie like me.

thank you

I was wondering the same, and found the answer in this post.

Thank you for posting important question. :)

Hi, may I ask: my voting wieght is 15...my power is 99% with bandwith remaining 99% (used?)..how can i fix it, please? thanks

Good question @ecoboss. Want to know what voting weight mean also. Do you have the answer already? Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36