You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apply here for dolphin support: 0-300 SP accounts.

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

First off Hi :) @tcpolymath! Such a great opportunity. I cannot wait until I am able to so something like this when I grow up 😁 @lynncoyle1 let me know about this contest. If she has enough confidence in me, then I know I'm on the right road. I joined Steemit in Dec 2017. I started from scratch. I have not added any personal funds to my account. I wanted to get a true sense of how things worked and how it would work with my goals I had set for myself. I am very happy to say Steemit has already passed my expectations. I did not come into this thinking I would be making a viable side income for quite a while. I knew if I worked hard and consistently to find my niche and a part of the community that I fit into magic would happen. It has I am currently sitting at 38 SP (all my own hard work) and I recently did win a 75 SP delegation from @simplymike.

One of the first groups I became involved with in any way was @newbieresteemday almost from day 1 when @davemccoy and @mudcat36 got it rolling. I found several people that helped give me a good basis to start with @davemccoy, @amariespeaks, @lynncoyle1 @simplymike (for starters) I started to participate more events and contests on the platform.

Not long after that @greetersguild was created. I admit I wasn't sure at first. After a response to a post @terminallyill invited me to their Discord and offered to kind of take me under his wing. I started out as a 'Scout.' I would leave random encouraging comments and pass off the information to the 'Greeters' who would then work on making my postings more consistent. I found myself at that point really wanting to do more in the community. I would find struggling newbies off what little bit of advice I could and would direct them to @newbieresteemday, @greetersguild and @minnowsupport. Between the 3 there is enough information to give anyone a good foot hold on how to get a good start. After a couple of months @terminallyill announced he was looking for writers for the guild. I wasn't sure, but had gotten some postive feedback on those who did read my posts. I wrote a Curation Spotlight on Wed. Newbie Spotlight on Fridays and Motivations for Saturdays all under the @greetersguild tag. During this time @thedarkhorse started #PayItForward curation contests. I thought it would be a perfect fit since I was already working on 1) finding good new undervalued Steemians and 2) posting and curating them. I participated about 2-3 months. Recently being asked to start helping judge the weekly contests.

Sadly, @greetersguild is on hold or possibly done. I wish I knew. So working with @wolfhart, @thedarkhorse and @lynncoyle1 we don't want to lose the type of support that @greetersguild offered and wanted to build into. So currently we are trying to integrate a lot of the ideals and projects from @greetersguild in to #PayItForward (soon to be @pifc)

As far as groups go, I have gradually started splitting my time with @pifc and @asapers. My goal for myself is to enter at least 1 contest per week (if even just for fun) up my postings to a solid post everyday. Making sure I visit and comment anyone that visits my postings. Plus still keep up trying to put out words of encouragement all over the community.

I have found in the past few months is making the time to get out there, commenting on posts and building relationships is the best way to grow on this platform. The nice unexpected side is my 'income' has almost doubled in the past 3 months. I have joined @abh12345 Curation League and @paulag's Redfish league. To see qauntifiable grow has had an amazing impact on me.

The first 2 people on the platform that gave me much need encouragement has been @abh12345 (he didn't know and I just recently told him. He was one of the first people to respond to one of my posts with some good basic advice and @gandhibaba. @gandhibaba started about the same time I did we have constantly been helping each other stay focused and keep the postivity and faith flowing.

There are soooo many people that have helped me along my journey so far. I guess I've helped a couple too. Isn't that what this is all about? Building a community and being a part of something bigger than you? At first I thought regular social media...reddit (ick) and such. Steemit is something completely different and I cannot wait to see what I become!!

Thank you for the opportunity @tcpolymath ( I didn't mean to make it so long. I let the words flow)

Sort:  

Your application is valid. This is an excellent application comment.

Grab her buddy; you won't be disappointed :)

After consultation with Lynn I'm adding you to the accepted-but-I-need-to-figure-out-which-account list. Basically I'm going to watch the voting power over the next few days and see where there's room for more people. I sent you a Discord invite.

I got the invite. I'll try to do the best I can over the next few days. I am going in for surgery in the morning and won't be home until Thurs (morning) I hope. Getting excited again:D I love this feeling.

Good luck! It's not your account I need to watch over the next few days but mine. There's no need for you to do anything but be patient, which it sounds like is the story of your week already.

Thanks for adding @tryskele! For sure someone that deserves the support and is very community oriented.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62094.48
ETH 2416.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56