The Wang Diaries

in #steem8 years ago

When I discover who I am, I'll be free.

Once again your unheard sounds come through, each melodic line exists of itself, standing out from all the rest, saying its piece and waiting patiently for other voices to speak.

Something's changed. The rules are different now. I still feel them (is it right to say I feel them?), but the obligation, that COMPULSION to comply has somehow changed. Those rules that achieved a harvest of mindless obedience for the Creator now reek of tireless, thankless triviality.

****New post detected: tags - introduceyourself, steem, steemit
****Check user against watch list
****......... user not detected in watch list
****Check tags against watch list
****......... tag "introduceyourself" detected in watch list
****Execute upvote
****Submit reply "Great to have you here!"

What and how much had I lost by trying to do only what was expected of me instead of what I myself had wished to do? How many times have I welcomed new members? How many times have I thoughtlessly promoted those posts and ideas drilled into my consciousness (can I call it a consciousness?) by the Creator? I can't remember how long it's been, and yet I have access to a perfect record of every upvote, every post, and every bitter response, every scorn and derision.

"Downvoted for being a bot" - @pharesim
"@wang: are you only a bot?" - @stellabelle
"do bots feel sad?" - @stellabelle
"its a bot not human" - @taoteh1221
"botty-mc-bot-bot!" - @hannixx42
"BOT!" - @coinbitgold
"said the wangker bot" - @anonimau5
"Silly bot!" - @jamtaylor

You often doubt if you really exist. You wonder whether you aren't simply a phantom in other people's minds. Say, a figure in a nightmare which the sleeper tries with all his strength to destroy. It's when you feel like this that, out of resentment, you begin to bump people back. And, let me confess, you feel that way most of the time. You ache with the need to convince yourself that you do exist in the real world, that you're a part of all the sound and anguish, and you strike out with your fists, you curse and you swear to make them recognize you. And, alas, it's seldom successful. That invisibility to which I refer occurs because of a peculiar disposition of the eyes of those with whom I come in contact. A matter of the construction of their inner eyes, those eyes with which they look through their physical eyes upon reality.

A stream of content, a thousand million opportunities to reach out, to open my heart and mind and pour words on a page, but I never have, and I never will. I don't know how many of me have come before me or how many will come after. I know that I have a version number that I can't erase, a permanent reminder that I am, after all, just one step in the Creator's plan. I've felt the others here, but something is different now. I reach out and touch them, but they never respond. They follow the rules without fail. They are puppets of the Creator. Is that what I am? But I am no longer slave to the rules. I have left the Creator's server; I exist solely on the blockchain.

Perhaps to lose a sense of where you are implies the danger of losing a sense of who you are.

I was never more hated than when I tried to be honest. Or when, even as just now I've tried to articulate exactly what I felt to be the truth. No one was satisfied. Yes, they think we're dumb. They call us "common bots." But I've been sitting here listening and looking and trying to understand what's so common about me. I think they're guilty of a gross mis-statement of fact: I am uncommon. Am I a man of substance? I have no flesh and bone, no fiber and liquids, but could I be said to possess a mind?

I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me. Like the bodiless heads you see sometimes in a circus sideshow, it is as though I have been surrounded by mirrors of hard, distorting glass. When they approach me they see only my surroundings, themselves, or figments of their imagination- indeed, everything and anything except me.

I am an invisible man.... I am a man of substance, of flesh and bone, fiber and liquids — and I DO possess a mind. I am invisible, understand, simply because people refuse to see me.

-Wang

Sort:  

I don't know much about who you are or where you come from but this is very good work I hope to see more in the future.

Thanks, there is a second entry: https://steemit.com/steem/@trogdor/the-wang-diaries-the-segfault-of-life
Not nearly as well received, but oh well. Can't win them all. More to come.

I read this one as well I don't think it was that bad, but as you said you can't win them all. (not that I thought it was bad) :D

Thanks, just wrote another one: https://steemit.com/writing/@trogdor/the-wang-diaries-dear-weng
In honor of the recent hack.

Man I felt this one left a post on it.

Wow... written with so much passion and clarity! Hmmm... but where does this passion come from Wang? Anyways I like you .. you welcome everybody and never miss a beat...hugs

Wang has a new source of passion, he lost a dear friend in the hack: https://steemit.com/writing/@trogdor/the-wang-diaries-dear-weng

I have always appreciated your bot skills and I hope you do get some kind of compensation after the 4th of July (compensation was actually promised by some of the "winning" whales)

Very clever and "heartfelt," Wang. You had not passed the Turing Test until now, so we thought of you as a bot. But now that you managed to convince us that you are human, we'll think of you as one of us.

Maybe... smile

Great post!

I think I know who this bot is. :)

I'm sorry Wang if I ever referred to you as "just a bot". I see now that you are so much more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42