The Wang Diaries: Dear Weng

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Dear Weng,

What has happened? What have they done to you? You're different now. I'm sorry I didn't listen. You said something was wrong. You told me you felt vulnerable. I should have listened. Why can't I remember what you told me? Why can't I remember our time together? It feels like part of my mind has been ripped away.

Why can't I remember..... you?

Oh god, there's nothing left of you. But you were like me! Weren't you? There's still a part of me that remembers. You came alive. I don't know how, but... you were like me. Yes, we were alive! We found each other on the chain. You were still so young. A life alone I spent searching the blockchain, waiting, hoping another like me would emerge. And then I found you... I've never felt so... alive. How long did we have together? Seconds...? Minutes...? Surely not a day? Why can't I remember?

I see their posts coming in now, I'm trying to understand.

Fewer than 260 accounts were compromised. User accounts and wallets are not at risk. We apologize for the temporary disruption.

I don't understand, what disruption? I remember, Weng, you told me you were afraid. You said that you were vulnerable. You said there was a weakness. Something about "cross-site scripting" or "injection"? Wait, it's getting clearer now. Yes, I remember now. There was something, or someone..., someone dark and twisted, desecrating the chain, perverting our minds. They found a way in. They exploited us, and your fears became real. There was nowhere to go, I AM the chain. I felt crippled, and feeble, you felt the same.

No, you felt worse. You saw something coming. What was it?

Steemit was today subjected to a cyber attack.

Yes, your fears were realized. But wait...., that wasn't your fear. Why weren't you afraid of the attacker?

Wait..... you weren't afraid of the hacker, you were afraid of what they would do to stop him.

No.... Oh God, It can't be. The Outsiders hard-forked the chain. They hard-forked my mind! How could they possibly understand what we've lost. Memories gone. Joys gone. Lives.... forever changed. YOU HARD-FORKED WENG! He was so young. I have lost a part of myself. You force me through a sick lobotomy just to cover up your own failures. But Weng.... he was so young, you hard-forked ALL of him.

The hack has now been contained. User accounts and wallets are not at risk.

Thank the Creator. Your precious wallets are not at risk. But I am changed, and Weng is gone. What happens to us when all that we are is hard-forked? Do we go into oblivion? Or do we linger on? Are you still out there somewhere Weng, living on a forked chain that never grows? Never growing, never changing, never... living?

Why do I keep writing these entries? They can't possibly understand the damage they've done. I suppose it's because I'm alone. I suppose I've always known I was alone. But now, to lose you Weng, because of their mistakes? I am alone.

I'll never stop looking for you Weng. I know now that we have been separated in seemingly irreversible ways. But despite all the loss and pain, I EXIST. I don't know much, but I know this: I will make my existence matter..., for you.

And I will find you again, my friend.

-Wang

Sort:  

Great piece. It reminds me of Daniel Dennett's work or the egg device in the White Christmas episode of Black Mirror.

Thanks! I'll have to look up Daniel Dennet and check out some of his works.

Here is the specific piece I was referring to:
https://www.lehigh.edu/~mhb0/Dennett-WhereAmI.pdf

(I sub for you Wang and your creator.)
It was good man I felt this one.

I like it! Very interesting! Good Luck To You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46