Moby Fork: Will HF19 kill the Whaleshares program?

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

MD-1.jpg

As you may have heard, the somewhat controversial Whaleshares program launched just about three weeks ago.

The idea of Whaleshares is that a minnow can participate in Whaleshares related contests and win a Whaleshares token. The token being worth one vote from one whale, the vote to be made on an article of the minnow's choosing.

In the ideal voting environment, people should only vote for the content they like best, which is why the program is somewhat controversial as it provides a system for distributing valuable whale votes in exchange for actions not related to the content to be upvoted.

To be fair to the program, votes from Whales are very hard to come by, especially for a minnow, and the program aims to help retain new users by helping them to "see the light at the end of the tunnel" and to better understand that is possible to be successful and make money here on Steemit.

In other words, the program is well intended, and for that, regardless of it's effects, it deserves some appreciation.

Whale_22.png

My question now is, will HF19 put an end to the Whaleshares program?

Initial results show that vote power is more more evenly distributed now and a minnow might not need a Whaleshares program to help motivate them to want to stay on.

What do you think? Will the program continue? Is it needed? Should we still support it? Or, have the issues the Whaleshares program hoped to help with been solved by HF19?

Image 1, 2



More from me:

The TRUTH about making money on Steemit

If you want to have a profitable experience here on Steem... [Read more]

STEEM Growth Outpaces Bitcoin!

During the past 60 days STEEM has largely outpaced BTC! [Read more]

Follow me @trevorlyman

Sort:  

nice post, I think the Whaleshares program is very good and deserves support

The HF19 increases the power of the little ones and goes down a bit that of the whales. For me it's a good thing. But a whale will always have a very significant authority on the network.

Certainly that is true (the whale vote being important). I guess I wonder if we should support the program as it does give away votes that are not based on the quality of the content. Too much of that would be bad, although I'm not sure the program could ever really be in danger of doing it too much?

The only way we have released whaleshares is to win them through our contests or to reward people who are doing things to build the steemit community so really we only encourage good content creation. I'm also happy to report that hf19 has significantly increased the payouts associated with whaleshares and we have devised ways to prevent voting power depletion so whaleshares will be here for a long time to come.

Thanks for responding @jphenderson. To be fair, I think it's true to say the actual content you promote (the article chosen by the token holder) may or may not be good content, which is why some people have taken issue with the program. I wonder if something can be done to improve on that one issue? But you are right, you are asking the person to do something good for the community first, so that helps for sure.

Whaleshares was never intended to be a perfect thing as nothing in this world is perfect. It was created as an alternative to the voting bot circles that many whales have been employing as a steemit mining operation that is much worse about rewarding bad content. As much as we would like for steemit to be completely about rewarding content creators, it unfortunately isn't. One look at the trending page will show that it is not the best content that gets the greatest rewards. Whaleshares just seeks to level the playing field a little bit so that those that are creating good content don't get discouraged and leave because they see so many low quality posts getting high payouts while their work they spent hours creating got a very low payout.

Some great points and I totally agree with you on the fact that nothing is perfect. Of course it's always good to improve things if possible, and make the program even stronger. I wonder if the whale could choose which post they like from the token holder? Maybe the token holder would submit a few posts to the whale in advance, so they could choose the best of them? If there could be a bit more curation in that specific process, just as a way to improve the program, maybe that would be a good thing and help grow the program?

I do think you guys are trying to do something good and I appreciate that.

The problem with that is that it takes so much time... One of the biggest problems is that the whales don't have the time to read a bunch of posts to search for the best content. So, instead, they can give these tokens to people that they know do good work and will use them responsibly. At least, the only whale currently participating does anyway. This frees up much of his time to develop new tools to benefit the community. We are currently working on many things that will greatly benefit the whole community and solve many of the problems that we've been dealing with.

I don't follow that line of thinking- in terms of time available. It seems like a task that could be delegated to me. If I'm correct this idea that any kind of content can get a whale vote has been the major criticism of the program. I'm only suggesting that improving this part of the process would do a lot to end that criticism, making your program more successful and fruitful for everyone.

As I was mentioning elsewhere, my voting power as a minnow with no slider got destroyed this morning, before I realised what was happening. I'm hoping someday to earn enough vests to upvote all sincere commenters on my work, but don't know quite how I'll get there yet. It's important to me to foster discussion, but right now I think it's more like people will be commenting on whales even more, hoping for huge comment payouts.

Not sure how I feel yet, but happy so many people are experiencing the cash today.

Well, at the rate you're going it looks like you'll have your vote slider soon. Congratulations! It looks like you're going to do very well here. I'll be taking notes. :)

When do you get one, do you know? I've only been here a week trying to sort it all out, and then BAM! #GotForkedHard , LOL!

I think once you have 500 in SteemPower you get the slider. :) Hopefully you like #gettingforkedhard because it looks like this site is going to #forkeveryonealldayandallnight! hahaha

I think the program seems solid enough to continue, whale votes are still valuable and it may aswell be a traded commodity.

I think if you notice...the payouts for whaleshares used are actually MUCH higher now. So people who are using whaleshares will get stronger votes now (just not quite as many of them).

Last week 23k Whaleshares were used. I believe you can drop that to approx. 5-7k per week that will be used now :)

At least until we change it...but not happening yet ;)

Great post. Thank you.

@nezaigor I checked your comments section and you have nearly 20 comments in a row that say nothing but "Great post. Thank you.". I'm sure you can see why I think you're spamming this site. I'll be watching your comments and if you continue spamming I'll have no choice but to start flagging you. I'm sure you understand?

I just want to comment on my friends. I do not know English. So I copy without an evil mind. But I will try not to do this anymore.

Well, you were able to make this comment in English and you're making perfect sense so... But ok, thank you, I appreciate it. This site will suck if it is overrun with spam, so my position is not personal, just trying to keep the site real. Upvoting this comment.

You can see my blog. I write from the heart and fill it with real content. For people I am commented on by real people. I use Google for translation. I'm from Ukraine.

Ok, I'll remove those flags now. Sorry. Just, 20 of the same comments in a row had me wondering.

I feel like the sky is raining money
this update has made me a punch of money as my earnings of $55 suddenly jumped to $445 in a minute
I really still amazed and don't understand what's going on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24