You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem On The Path To Pulling An Amazon? If It Does, Screw $100 Steem...It Might Be $1000 Steem!!!!

in #steem7 years ago

To hit $1000 a Steem with roughly 250 million Steem currently in existence we’d need a 250 billion dollar market cap. I think $10 or even $100 Steem is possible but $1000 is insanity. I hope we hit it, but it seems like an unreachable goal.

Sort:  

Market Caps:

Facebook $500B
Twitter $20B
Reddit $25B
YouTube $100B ???

And that is solely the social media realm. What is it worth when you consider that the world's economy is heading towards $100 trillion dollars. Since most of that is going to end up on the blockchain, it is unreasonable to thing that .5% ends up on steem?

How much is EBay worth? What if Steembay evolves and takes a portion of that market from them? We also saw the introduction of the steemfleamarket which could put a dent in sites like Etsy.

I am not saying that steem will be $1000...not by a long shot. However, the numbers in the cryptoworld are unlike anything we saw before. So far, the values are in the platform, not the apps that go on them.

I get that but I feel like to hit $1,000 a Steem Steem would have to be a top 3 crypto and get there before too many more Steem are created. If it takes a few years to get to $1000 Steem the market cap would need to hit $1 trillion.

I could definitely see Steem having a Facebook like market cap, so $100 Steem I could see in the next few years.

Right now a $25B market cap would make steem a top 3 cryptocurrency.

In a year, $25B in market cap might not crack the top 20.

Wall Street is going to dump close to $1T in the blockchain/cryptocurrency space in 2018. My forecast is that we see $1.5T in marketcap by the end of 2018.

It would be nice but that eth bug, the “delayed” fork and the unfolding tether drama will probably hold Wallstreet back. I’m guessing next year we’ll be around a 500 billion market cap at best but only time will tell. Hopefully you’re right :)

Wrote a post containing your comment...my reply.

I hope you dont mind me citing you.

Good article! So long as the quote doesn’t take my words out of contest I have no problem with being quoted. Thanks for the heads up though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43