Auditing My Witness: Let's do our duty [v6], removing @riverhead, voting @actifit .

in #steem6 years ago

6th report on my Witness list Audit.
This is one of the most important tasks we, as a good steemians, should do in a periodical manner.
In my case, I will try to do this process monthly.

For your information:

Witnesses are the block producers on the Steem blockchain and their role is beyond important. These are the people that literally write the blocks and keep the blockchain itself online.

Steem operates on Delegated Proof of Stake (DPoS) in which all users vote to determine these witnesses, much like an election. The distinction here is that this election happens moment to moment and your votes never expire.
(Source)

Each account can vote for up to 30 witnesses, so, as you can understand, in a certain manner, it is our duty as well as our right as steemians to vote for witnesses which have contrasted solvency working as so, if we want to ensure the good stability and performance of the STEEM Blockchain.

I am still searching good witnesses to give my vote for. Currently, my Witness Votes have gone to only 25 witnesses.
The last witnesses for which I have voted for since last "Audit" are:

@roelandp and @swisswitness (@felander explained me how @swisswitness failed during some upgrades of the Steem Blockchain and I decided to give my vote to them again).

These accounts have demonstrated, at least for me, their solvency and their commitment with STEEM and the community.

But my intention is to take my responsibility as steemian to "audit" my witness list and to try to find or maintain good witnesses and, of course, discard those that I think are doing wrongly, bad or with low performance or community commitment.

HOW?

Very easy, I am using this app. http://duplibot.com/deadwitnesses/ created by @deadwitnesses , you can check this post with the explanation on which information you can get there.

My "Acceptance" criteria will be:

  • How many days have past since this witness last wrote a block to the blockchain (PERFORMANCE)
  • Did the witness write a Post within a week?
  • Did the witness vote a Post within a week?
  • Is the signing key of the witness active? (If it is not, it means that this witness cannot produce any block)
NrWitnessLast Block (days ago)Last Post within a weekLast Vote within a weekSigning Key
1@abit0NOYESActive
2@arcange0YESYESActive
3@blocktrades0YESYESActive
4@cervantes0YESYESActive
5@curie0YESYESActive
6@demotruk0YESYESActive
7@dragosroua0YESYESActive
8@drakos0YESYESActive
9@emrebeyler0YESYESActive
10@fulltimegeek0YESYESActive
11@fyrst-witness0YESYESActive
12@good-karma0NOYESActive
13@gtg0YESYESActive
14@holger800YESYESActive
15@intelliwitness37NOYESInactive
16@jesta0YESYESActive
17@klye0YESYESActive
18@mahdiyari0YESYESActive
19@partiko0YESYESActive
20@pharesim0YESYESActive
21@quochuy0YESYESActive
22@riverhead0NONOActive
23@roelandp0YESYESActive
24@sc-steemit6NOYESInactive
25@steemitboard0YESYESActive
26@swisswitness0YESYESActive
27@themarkymark0YESYESActive
28@therealwolf0YESYESActive
29@utopian-io0YESYESActive
30@yabapmatt0YESYESActive

Summary:

  • Two witnesses present an "Inactive" Signing Key, @sc-steemit and @intelliwitness. In the case of @intelliwitness the situation is worst because the last block this witness has signed happens 37 days ago so, I can conclude that the activity as witness is stopped.
  • 5 Witness did not post anything during the last 7 days, they are @abit , @good-karma , @intelliwitness , @riverhead and @sc-steemit .
  • From those 5 witness, only @riverhead shows a complete inactivity in terms of upvoting anything in the steem blockchain, which is IMO very bad. Terribly bad, this account has 886K of SP.

Watching the account at @steemworld you can see the waste of resources, having permanently a voting power of 100% and getting daily an average of 50 SP just keeping alive the witness node...

image.png

I remember when @riverhead was an active community member, long time ago. I would prefer not to remove my Witness vote on him since I think he did well in the past but, I cannot vote a witness who currently is doing nothing but wasting his Voting Power.

At least @riverhead, you should delegate your stake or join a curating trail for the sake of the steem blockchain and community.

Make use of the Available Voting Power is important for all of us...

CONCLUSION:

  • I remove my vote for @intelliwitness , sorry man, I trust on you but your witness node does not work at all. Please, let me know when you will fix it.
  • I REMOVE @riverhead , and I invite anyone to do so, it is really an INACTIVE MEMBER who does not make use of his unbelievable Voting Power.
  • I ADD @actifit . I trust on this team and in particular with @mcfarhat .

image.png

TO DO TASKS:

  • First task , I should make use of all my Witness Vote power so, I have to find good witnesses and vote for them.

  • I still have 1 witness votes available.

  • Second Task: Check closely @sc-steemit inactive key. If it keeps inactive I will not have more remedy than unvote it and find a better one.

What about you? Which witnesses do you recommend to vote and why?


Steem on!

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

Thank you for this helpful post and the useful deadwitnesses app. I am still getting my head round this element of steem - I understand why voting for witnesses is important, but trawling through the evidence and making judgments takes time and understanding. The deadwitnesses app helps with this. I also like your approach of auditing monthly, I could add this into the account review that I do each month.

Of course, a monthly review is the minimum we should do for the sake of the steem blockchain.
Regarding the judgement, for me is clear, I am an active member and I need active witnesses . Communication is also a decision key for me, as you can read, what @themarkymark is doing is an example of good communicative behavior IMO.

Good work Eddie. I am impressed with your post and findings. It is most useful to others who maybe do not have the time for such research. You are a great Steemian😉

Thanks @sallybeth23 . Nothing outstanding here... Anyone can do it, it is just a question of good will and dedicate a couple of minutes to do so...
If you don't have the time to do it, just take into account you can also choose someone else to do on your behalf.
Just set me as a proxy for your witness votes here if you like my witness list:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Excellent I have set you as proxy for my votes

Well done Sally, I promise you I will do my best to find and vote good ones ;-)

Thank you my friend 🤗🍀❤️🌈😂🌅

very interesting ... good job Eddie

Thank you @newtechblog

I still have one vote to give. If you know a worth witness let me know...

Great job! I need to do the same. And I don't know why but @deadwitnesses doesn't work on Safari. I don't know how to tell them that because the account doesn't seem active.

Weird, did you try with another browser?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, it works with Chrome.

Hey you're very into this ... can you do a post or write here what you would like to see from a table of witnesses?

Steemian has a pretty good page showing witness info... some of those columns may not be needed or at least not inside the tabel. What would YOU actually like to see in a comparative table form?

Sorry I don't catch this, what do you mean as...

Steemian has a pretty good page showing witness info..

No, as I said, for me a witness has to be active in both senses, Producing blocks/securing the steem blockchain and being active in the communication/interaction field (commenting, posting and upvoting)... would be nice as well to see what witnesses delegate/promotes other initiatives in the steem blockchain

OK so if you had a table of all the things you want to see about a witness what would all those columns include?

Hi @toofasteddie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.017 which ranks you at #3603 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 3609).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 438 contributions, your post is ranked at #18.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62