syncing steem blockchain takes DAYS

in #steem7 years ago

Hello, 


In an attempt to mine some steem on my linuxbox, i have followed carefully the "mining steem for linux instructions detailed here :
https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@joseph/mining-steem-for-dummies

But although I think I have a running steem environment, I get worried for the time it takes to sync the blockchain. Indeed i have installed the necessary software on friday Apr. 14 at 04:30 PM CEST, and the linuxbox has been running without discontinuation since (we are monday april 17, 11:00 PM CEST), blocks syncing painfully have reached
3337173ms th_a       application.cpp:466           handle_block         ] Syncing Blockchain --- Got block: #5830000 time: 2016-10-14T16:54:30
I am running an intel core I7 with 8GB ram.  Only mid october 2016 blockchain syncing in 3+days, does this seems normal to you ??  Is there a way to fasten the process ? can the blockchain be directly dowloaded somewhere (no P2P) ??

Thanks for your help

Sort:  

Hello @tofm2, welcome to the club :) As I already mentioned in my introduction I was able only to mine 3 blocks before whole mining thing was abandoned.
You can leave your node running if you like, it would eventually sync with network and act as a seed node or use it to connect with cli_wallet and so on.

in fact, if i do so, what would be the advantages/benefits of it ?

It would help the network I guess. More nodes helps AFAIK.
Benefits for you? IDK. You could feel cool, or more geeky.
For me it was a lot of fun, like solving puzzles :) I love puzzles.

Proof of Work mining was removed in hard fork 18.

excuse me but i do not understand ? (relatively new to cryptos and steem)
What do you mean ?
No more mining steem possible ?
only mid october in 3+days, d

Mining is no longer possible. Steem is primarily secured by witnesses, not miners. In the past there was 1 miner block for every 20 Witness blocks. Now we rotate witnesses exclusively.

As for why your blockchain isn't syncing, I don't know the answer, sorry. It could be an out of date version, but I am aware that the Steem blockchain takes a long time to sync anyway (there are optimizations planned to improve this).

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84