Okay Steemit: What is up with all of the fake followers?! 4th Edition

in #steem6 years ago

Due to virtually no discussion/exposure of this problem on steemit I am reposting this


I don't know if this is common knowledge or not, but I have noticed that for the last couple of months there are some mysterious accounts which automatically start following posters within the first seconds of creating a post

This wasn't the case, say like a half a year ago.

Let me show you what I mean:

Using Steem Followers https://steem.makerwannabe.com/ you can see who has started following someone.

If you make a post and get a follower in the first few seconds chances are high that this following comes from a bot account, like @steveet, @samimi, @poro, @farad, @thome, @lenzy, @goddes etc.

There are dozens of these accounts (hundreds?!) with the only purpose of following authors of newly created content.
Some of these accounts follow almost 100k people!
In fact, more than 90% of my followers in the last few months are bots!

Now the obvious question that I have is: why?

If the answer is that it artificially creates a feeling of being followed which in turn motivates people to create content, this is a terrible idea...

Sure, it is hard to stay with Steemit if you are new and trying to figure things out. But will this be fixed by fake accounts that are deluding people into thinking that someone is interested in their content? I don't think so... True power for a social media platform always comes from real people.

Sort:  

You are right . I've noticed that too and this should stop ,as having followers without upvotes doesn't mean anything. Another issue is the "dead" accounts which administrators should delete after 6 months of no action at most.

I admire your persistence. Hope that somebody will pay attention.
Have you seen this post, it basically show that a LOT of account are 25, more than 80%, not been used at all. Also someone mentioned that around 60k users are actually active.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptoriddler/distribution-of-reputation-levels-2018-06-01-verteilung-der-reputationslevel-01-06-2018#@dalz/re-cryptoriddler-distribution-of-reputation-levels-2018-06-01-verteilung-der-reputationslevel-01-06-2018-20180601t190210447z

thanks, yes I am familiar with it... I hope this will improve. But I think it won't get better before the economy gets fixed. But as many people are complaining about it, I am hopeful that we will see a fix rather sooner than later (of course there is a lot of debate about how such a fix should look like and if it will actually make things better...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87