Sort:  

Hi Tim, thanks for weighing in. A quick question for you since you are here. I have had a mixup regarding my owner key since yesterday. My understanding has evolved since I initially posted this:

https://steemit.com/heresyoursign/@practicalthought/going-to-be-starting-a-new-account-next-week

I changed my password yesterday, and evidently I must have been using my owner key all this time thinking it was an active key as when I tried to change my password today it demanded my owner key. I sent in an account recovery request giving them the oldest password I had, but since sending that ticket in i realize it has to be one of two passwords I have on an USB. My questions are this:

About how long does it typically take for them to reach out to me in email?

When they do, now that I know the password I sent them is wrong, can I reply back with the two passwords that I am sure one of them is the correct one?

Any insight you can shed would be great. I hate the thought of having to buy a new account and slowly power down and send my Steem to the new account.

They typically approve 'valid' stolen account recovery requests within 1-2 business days. If you don't get an email back by then, then it means the request was not valid. (In order to be valid it needs to have an owner key that was used within the last 30 days, and the email associated with the account.)

Do not under any circumstances email your key to anyone. If you used the wrong one, you would want to re-submit a new request via the form on steemit.com.

Ok, thank you. I am pretty positive I sent in the wrong key as I have changed my password more than once and did again yesterday. I will send in another request with one of the two I think it may be. I am using the email I opened the account with.

Ok, just wanted to let you know what I have found out so far. I went to resubmit with what I am almost positive was my owners key until I changed it yesterday. It replied back that they were already working on it, which I assume means they did not get my new password key I sent them. I will update you in a couple of days if I haven't heard anything back and go to resubmit with the new password key I think is it. Or if they did get the information from my resubmission. Thanks again.

Let me know if it is not done in a couple of business days

Wanted to let you know that I woke up to the account recovery email. They sent it to me overnight. Can't get any quicker than that.

Thank you for the interest you took, especially seeing that we didn't really know one another and that I hadn't voted for you as witness since I didn't know you. I voted for you now, as your actions regarding this and our initial encounter due to the glitches shows me you are good for the platform. Thank you for caring, I don't get that feeling about many of the witnesses I know of.

Cool, thank you :) Glad to help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68539.09
ETH 3904.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62