Attention Steemains - Save your posts before clicking the submit button!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

There have been a lot of users reporting about the Steemit.com website running slow, and actions not getting reported to the blockchain.

Symptoms include:

  • The website taking a very long time to process votes/posts/comments.
  • Errors that you cannot upvote more than once every 3 seconds, even though it has been longer than that.
  • Posts, comments, and votes getting lost (not being saved in the blockchain).

The dev team is aware of the issue and is looking into it (GitHub issue 1818).

In order to prevent posts and comments from getting lost, save a copy of your posts/comments in a text editor (such as notepad) before clicking the post button!

 
This way, if your post/comment is lost, you will have it saved somewhere and will not have lost all your work.

Also, check to see if your actions (such as posts/comments, upvotes, transfers, etc.) are recorded. To check the blockchain to see if an action was received, wait for around 30 seconds and then refresh the website and see if it is still there. You can also go to https://steemd.com/@youraccountname. If the action is not recorded there, it will need to be re-submitted.

Please resteem this post for visibility. (Payout declined)

Sort:  

You can also right click on the post tab, top right and click "open link in new tab" That would open up a copy of your post, just in case the one you submitted did not post. you can than try again.

Thanks for that helpful tip @zeartul

Thanks for the advice. Most of the comments are short and won't be a problem to type them in again but some of them can become pretty large, especially those ones that require explanations or details. Those are a good idea to have them saved. Same goes for posts, except for those users who just write posts in Twitter style :P
As an alternative for saving my posts in an external editor, I just use an alternative to steemit.com . Probably you heard of http://busy.org already. I'm using the beta version. Don't get me wrong, I'm not pushing you out of steemit I just point out an alternative

Yes, that is a good recommendation. I wasn't sure if Busy and the other sites were having similar issues, so I didn't want to label them 'safe'. I think saving a copy before submitting is a good idea regardless of which UI you are using.

Busy has auto-saved to Drafts ;) Users seems to appreciate this feature. You can then access all your drafts posts and manage it from the interface. The new Editor version (check last news) seems to work without any issue

Yes, in the end, it's a good habit to save your work as often as you can. That's why software this days, especially text editors come with autosave feature, heck, even the games now have autosave :) . So, yes, saving your work should be a good habit to get used to

Using these off site editors to write your posts can save you this trouble.

  • hackmd.io - Realtime collaborative markdown editor
    • Saves text as you write it.
    • Allows multiple people to easily edit a document at the same time.
  • MarkdownPad -Editor for windows
  • Haroopad - My favorite editor for linux, but also available for Mac, and Windows.

all of these editors offer a side-by-side view of your post showing you the preview while you write it, as well as support for multiple coding languages!

I opened an hackmd.io account but i have not been able to get through in using it once, I might contact you in discord to explain grey areas. Thanks.

I guess I need to start learning some of these off-site editors. I've been doing my best to stay only on steemit since there is so much effort needed for me to just learn this place. But thanks for the ideas and I will look at these and see if my weak technical brain can take anymore.

it get's easier! you're doing great! :)

thank you, I was looking for something like this - will check these out!

if on a mac i use these tools to make blogging much easier!

Resteemed. It didn't appear on my blog. This bug is really timed amusingly with my attempt to return to Steemit. I wonder if this comment will post.

Lol, I know. I actually had to post this post 4 times before it stuck.

And this is how I discovered busy.org . Helpful! So what's changed in the past year? I hear people buy votes now?

There is a market for that now, yes. Quite a few new features have been added. I think a lot more are in the pipeline.

Tell me more! Or link to a post that does. Need a quick update before I make a fool of myself.

The best source for major updates will be to go through the @steemitblog posts. There are also a lot of general UI updates, such as nsfw filters, profile pics (which you have obviously found), cover photos, and a FAQ page. There are quite a few more I'm sure, but if you explore the site you should be able to find a lot of the stuff that is different. Also, if you haven't checked out the welcome page, and FAQ (in the main menu) - they have a lot of good info.

I did all that. So far, the best thing I discovered is busy.org and apparently I can delegate voting power to get rewards through minnowbooster. Still figuring that out. I have more voting power than I need, so might as well let newbies use it, right?

Thanks @timcliff I have experimented the issue since some days and have been doing this.... I have been using NotePad as my second software nowadays! since I had to re write and re write and re write post... ;)
RESTEEMED! and translated to SPANISH TOO

https://steemit.com/spanish/@leotrap/atencion-steemians-graben-sus-posts-antes-de-enviarlos

Awesome, thanks!

Such an honor @timcliff ! I hope this issue gets fixed soon, Cheers!

For me steemit was offline for at least 30 minutes a few hours earlier (12GMT??), with a 504

edit: I was also unable to post a comment certain comment, regardless how often I F5-ed or even opened a new tab by clicking on the link under replies.
Then I posted a "test" comment - that worked. I could also copy in the not-working text.
So I guess the problems also have something to do with what steemit saves as draft. Once I got "Transaction broadcast error."

edit2: some problems with this post edit, including the error. (which is why I made a second comment, first comment could not be successfully edited)

edit3: had the transaction broadcast error again and something popping up on lower left "e is null"

Yeah, the dev team is still working on a fix.. Hopefully we will see things improve soon.

Very good post which motivated me to follow up and make a post about it (pls see my latest post where I indicated more tips, I referenced you there) . This issue affected me because my post didnt get the normal upvotes due to inability for readers to upvote me as usual and i hope that the issue will be resolved.

I have learned that paying attention to how long it takes after hitting the post button can help you not lose what you are posting. At least for comments. I have saved many of my posts by copying them when I notice it is taking an extremely long time to post just encase it is lost!

Update: Just happened now haha.

Happening to me too xD

I have had this several times. I have t managed to post via the website for over a week and I’m using esteem on my mobile. Even this often cuts half of comments off. It’s usually better with posts. It also rotates pictures in posts. But otherwise it’s great!!

We have already seen this in the past few days and also these days we also see a slow process of commenting. I agree with you to make a copy of all this for nothing.
Greetings to you and your thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51