You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Is The Best Time To Earn STEEM?

in #steem5 years ago

Hey.

I don't come here much often anymore since I have a lot of other things to do. Wife, work, school (last year finally), dog and youth group and the occasional trading study keep me well occupied.

I am grateful to see that your account value has increased so much from the first day we talked. Mine, not so much. For obvious reasons.

Still, I am happy to see such low prices. As you may recall, I once actually stated in a conversation of ours that we might see prices around 0,35. And we've actually seen even less than that. And as much as it may hurt, I believe it's a good thing. I've been watching the space closely and studying the developments and I think they have been great.

While that price point might sound daunting and especially to us, who have bought at prices well above 1 dollar, I am in no way loosing optimism for this platform. Even more so now, when we are seeing increased interest in digital rights management and even stuff like EU Article 13 could have impact on decentralised economies.

I hope you are doing great IRL. I remember reading a story about your wife. I hope all is well.

Sort:  

Hey, @tim3w4rp.

Long time no see! Sounds like life definitely has you busy.

I took advantage of some lower pricing for STEEM around the $0.50 mark, and was pretty much able to double what I had invested then. Helped quite a bit to lower the average STEEM purchase. :) Since then, though, I've pretty much been cut off. I really don't have too much more I can dedicate to investing now, unless the price were to fall under $0.05 USD, which I don't think anyone wants to see.

I agree. I think there's been a lot of good things happening lately with the lower pricing, including smaller accounts buying, and for some reason, larger accounts selling off. I get a little concerned when Ned or someone associated with Steemit starts doing things like that, but then it makes them less influential on the platform, too, which some would say is good.

It's good to hear your optimistic about the platform. You have quite a bit of knowledge and good judgment about many different things, so it's reassuring to read that's what you think.

re: IRL

Well, great is a little ambitious—things could always be better, but as they say, it could always be worse. My situation will be better when my wife is no longer working, which either means I'm working full time again, or STEEM has made it above, oh, $25 and stayed there. That could work. :)

re: my wife

She is well. If you're referring to the car accident she was in, she was not hurt physically in it, but did end up traumatized for a while. Since, though, she has been driving and back to work. Our car was able to get repaired and the insurance paid for it all, so that was good.

Don't be a stranger, if at all possible. You've got a lot on your plate, but it still nice to hear from you from time to time. So many of the people who I started out with are either off platform, curtailed their activity, or more involved in the games like STEEM Monsters and Drugwars, so I'm constantly searching out someone to have a conversation with. :)

Regarding Ned and other big players. I think it is of very little significance in any direction.

Simple example: You can make the argument that they sold their stake and as such, they are somewhat abandoning the platform, which can result in what? Less trustworthiness ? Them loosing monetary interests and thus executing poorly on their job? (This was exactly the point of some bad news about LTC and they attributed the selloff to the drop in price)

Looking back, such massive correction has been long overdue and it was only healthy.

The other way could be: It simply makes the service/platform/project or what have you more decentralised. Must be a good thing. Right? ... Right?

Except it isn't. Some platforms (BitShares for example) are loosing traction exactly because of their decentralised nature. The community simply can not agree on how to proceed. If there is still anyone left to actually vote. Not to mention the problems EOS seemed to run into with very low turnover of votes in the system.

I could go on and on, but I think you can easily see we'd be here for a long time.

Granted, my beliefs might be somewhat distorted, as I do believe what Haejin taught us - news will arrive to justify the forecast, not the other way around. First there is the movement and the news come after. That is what has proved to me time and time again.

Regarding other things. I am happy that life is being good to you. I occasionally come here to see what's brewin' and I'm happy to hear about new people coming to the platform.

Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75